How I was Convinced that CRYPTO is the FUTURE!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)


20180108_215714.png
(pic source)


Let me start off by saying that I don't know much about cryptocurrency world and I have only been on Steemit for a few weeks. However, I think 99% of the world's population are in the same shoes as well. I've heard about Bitcoin around 2011 and thought:"what a silly idea, no one is going to buy into it, it's not supported by gold or major economy. Stocks and $$- that's where I will put my money..."

Then the more I heard about it the more my stupid mind would put me in denial. I would keep thinking that crypto will never take off and there will not be enough demand for it, and that it's not safe since it's based on internet connection that not everyone has... What a dinosaur...

20180108-220929.jpg

Well, it hasn't occurred to me that everything else in the finance world is based on that same internet connection. Be it a credit card transaction, or credit inquiry, or any type of purchase etc.. I was stuck in the 20th century and was preventing myself from going into the 21st...

Finally, a few months ago I started doing more research on the topic. Especially after hearing about the incredible jump in Bitcoin. I figured- better late than never! And what I subsequently realized is that crypto is the future. Aside from the confusing details about "mining", decentralization, and what stands behind cryptocurrencies, the fact that some countries that have a huge inflation rate and political unrest (i.e. Zimbabwe) are directly affecting the price of Bitcoin was a major enlightenment for me.

The "aha moment" was when I heard on the news that due to the political and economic uncertainty a population of a major African country with enormous resources turns to cryptocurrency.. So I thought to myself, this is what stands behind crypto- the absence of instability (=economic stability by using double negative rhetoric). And now there is all this talk about some FAANG (Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix, Google) members accepting cryptocurrencies, along with Bitcoin ATMs popping up everywhere, etc. This is why crypto is the future, and I am betting on it.

20180109_063759.jpg
(pic source)

As I said, I am brand new to all of this and I might be saying something that has been said a thousand times before, but for me, as a lay-person, this made sense. And I hope it makes sense to you. Steemit is the perfect platform because it combines crypto and the narrative sides of things, backing SBD with the creative minds of people.

20180108_215616.png
(pic source)

That is why we are all here. And this is the future.

Please comment your thoughts on the matter. And please correct me if I'm wrong at any point in my logic.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Should be a fun ride. Welcome to the crypto world.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nerdy.alex from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

nice post! upvoted my friend :)

@nerdy.alex, I'm new too, but I agree with you. Based on my own research, I tend to look long-term and ignore short-term fluctuations. Imagine what this will be like when the infrastructure to support blockchain technology is a routine part of the daily lives of people all over the world.

Great point! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70