How do you handle people who question you instead of replying you?

in #bloglast month

As a psychologist dealing with negative or questioning individuals, I would aim to respond with empathy, patience, and an open-minded approach. Here are some strategies I might employ:

Credit: Photo by Suzy Hazelwood from Pexels

  1. Active Listening: Instead of getting defensive or dismissive, I would practice active listening. This means giving the person my full attention, allowing them to express their concerns or skepticism without interruption, and reflecting back what I've understood to ensure I'm grasping their perspective accurately.

  2. Validate Emotions: Even if I disagree with someone's viewpoint, I would strive to validate their emotional experience. Phrases like "I can understand why you might feel that way" or "It's understandable to have doubts or questions" can help defuse defensiveness and create a more collaborative dynamic.

  3. Provide Psychoeducation: In a non-judgmental manner, I would offer information to address any misconceptions or knowledge gaps that may be contributing to the person's negative attitudes or skepticism. However, I would be careful not to come across as lecturing or condescending.

  4. Explore Underlying Concerns: Often, negative attitudes or persistent questioning can stem from deeper underlying fears, past experiences, or unmet needs. As a psychologist, I would gently explore these potential root causes with open-ended questions and a compassionate stance.

  5. Emphasize Collaboration: Rather than positioning myself as an authority figure, I would emphasize that we are partners in the therapeutic process. Inviting the person to work together to address their concerns or find mutually agreeable solutions can foster a more positive dynamic.

  6. Maintain Boundaries: While remaining empathetic and open-minded, I would also be prepared to set appropriate boundaries if the person's behavior becomes disrespectful, threatening, or undermines the therapeutic relationship.

  7. Suggest Alternative Perspectives: If the person seems stuck in negative thought patterns, I might gently offer alternative perspectives or cognitive reframes to consider. However, I would be careful not to invalidate their experiences or force my views upon them.

  8. Encourage Self-Reflection: Ultimately, the goal would be to guide the person toward greater self-awareness and insight into their thoughts and behaviors. Reflective questioning and homework assignments could help facilitate this process.

The key is to approach negative or questioning individuals with patience, empathy, and a genuine desire to understand their perspective – even if I disagree with it. By creating a safe, non-judgmental space for exploration and collaboration, I would aim to gradually shift negative attitudes and build a more positive therapeutic alliance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43