The Breakthrough Moment

in #blog5 years ago

Life is a struggle...

But sometimes, it all just clicks together and shit starts to fall in to place...


I've been working through a 30-day Yoga Journey in an effort to re-kindle my home-practice of regular yoga sessions. I used to practice significantly more than I do now -- it was a combined training effort that was also related to wanting to get better a climbing. I was on a full-body adventure, and I was even making strides towards being able to do a 'planche' move / pose:

planche
I never really made it much farther than having both knees tucked in -- but I was still okay with it

I've been feeling really good for the last two weeks, over the course of the so far 15 yoga sessions. While I'm kind of interested in the spirituality / meditation / mindfulness side of the adventure -- I'm a big believer in the idea that your body & mind both generally thrive when engaging in movement -- the more controlled / precise / complex, the better perhaps. I keep reminding myself of the video below -- and I think it's really worth watching if you haven't seen it already.

Regardless -- I feel like I've been on my A-game these last two weeks. I've been feeling more energetic, and I've been in a really good mood. I haven't felt as fidgety and restless as I have previously at work when it's just back and forth between "work mode" and "chill in front of the TV mode". Coupling this adventure in Yoga, I've been doing some semi-regular body-weight exercises at home (squats, pushups, crunches, handstands, etc...) to try to foster a bit more strength.

On this same note -- the last two days found me participating in days 14 - Grace and 15 - Reveal in Yoga with Adriens 2019 30-day yoga Journey.

  • Day 14:
    • Focused on maintaining smooth movements along with you breath. No jerky movements. Strong and controlled. A fair amount of core-work at the start, followed by down-dogs, lunges, twists, and more.
    • A very enjoyable practice
  • Day 15:
    • Halfway point of the journey, and a moment to remember why you started, and where you're currently at.
    • I, personally, started this journey in an effort to get back into the mindset and body-feel that I used to have when I was practicing regularly.
    • This session started slow -- generally seated on the mat, and twisting. Followed by some planks w/ alternating leg raises / table-top crunches, and some down dog. This session ended up being a little bit #exhausting by the end of it.

After my yoga session last night...

... I sat down to get a bit of work done on @exhaust, and a few things that I had been struggling with previously had just kinda started to click. I managed to plug away at a nice pace, listening to some tunes and taking dancing breaks with my dogs, while I scoured through error traceback stacks to find out why the HELL certain things were breaking.

  • My django-markdown editor wasn't letting me drag & drop files;
  • Certain users were experiencing issues when they were trying to upload;
  • Certain GPS tracking file-types weren't working right;
  • Youtube videos weren't showing up correctly in posts;

One after another, they were investigated -- and one after another there was a bit of an "Aha!" moment (or a "wow I must be stupid for getting this one wrong so many times") that led me to getting things dialed in.

And I can't help but feel like it's because my brain was turned on. Primed and ready to go because it was just tasked with navigating these complex and strenuous movements -- it was ready for problem solving.


Moral of the Story?

Get yourself some exercise.

What gets your brain and body primed?

Sort:  

Thats pretty awesome your Yoga is helping you both physically and mentally. Looking forward to hearing more.
Regards Vince

Congratulations @mstafford! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 400 posts. Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @mstafford!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.255 which ranks you at #8233 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 22 places in the last three days (old rank 8211).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #212.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00