Happy New Year, and Crappy Back to Work Time

in #blog6 years ago

Happy New Year to All

But I'm just not ready to go back to work...


The winter break was so nice -- I even managed to forget what day of the week it was for about 6 or 7 days. Truly restful. My batteries are feeling generally recharged, and it's even a huge weight off my shoulders to have successfully made it through the holidays -- as strange as that may sound. There's always so much pressure on getting together with family and trying to be joyful and cheery with everything -- it's just @exhaust ing sometimes (shameless plug).

That being said -- my family seems to be one of the good ones these days, surprisingly. Growing up, there was traditionally a bit of turmoil around the holidays. Money stresses everything -- but now things are a bit more secure, and everyone managed to relax a bit. Stayed local this year, and had inlaws come for a visit -- which was also great. There were times that it was a bit challenging -- having 7 people and 5 dogs in a one bedroom apartment for a makeshift Christmas dinner was a bit stressful, but everyone fit better than expected. I even managed to make a trip out to catch a World Juniors Hockey game (Switzerland v Russia), and it was awesome. Front row seats, intensely overpriced beer, and a whacky double penalty shot!

IMG_20181231_131830.jpg

However -- I'm home again now, and back at work, so I'm going to have to spend some effort making sure I make the best of my time. I had some lofty goals for things I wanted to accomplish over the break -- get some stuff done on @exhaust, get back in to climbing, help @caitycat with her new website -- and I didn't really managed to even start on any of it... Time was spent relaxing with the dogs, socializing with friends, or getting together with family. Here's the the new year, and all the joys that 2019 are sure to bring if you open your heart and mind to them!

IMG_20190101_134515_HDR.jpg

No Regrets

20190101160203-01.jpeg

dawwwww

Sort:  



Personally, I'd say recharging is way more important than getting stuff done... especially if you've got a ton of new memories/inside jokes to show for it. There'll always the whole rest of the year to be a busy beaver.

Those rock dogs are the best!

Agreed! Just like rest-days or maintenance time for exercise -- I desperately needed to spend some time doing as little thinking and problem solving as possible. Some nice rainy days were had at the beach, and the only thing I regret is not getting a comical typo laden tattoo.

Happy new year, dude! Excited about your resumed Ninja training. Keen to see your video when it's ready. ETA on that?

Happy New Year to you too!!!

364 days!

The applications will close around the 2nd of January 2020... but I'll be aiming for a few weeks before that... with a drop dead date of Dec 31st at the latest.

The thing is... to make the video epic... I'll need to be epically strong, and have footage of me doing epic things.. so I honestly need to start thinking about it and training for it now. A 5 second shot of me crushing the Salmon Ladder might take months of practice.

It's the only way to go from a beginner to pro...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60506.66
ETH 2400.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58