Stalker Story... Do You Have One?

in #blog7 years ago

Screenshot 2016-06-02 at 3.07.43 PM.png
(Credit image SALTHECOLOURGEEK/FLICKR - FLICKR.COM)

I need to ask a question. For both men and women.
Have you ever been stalked online? I'm not talking about just cases where someone has gone through your feed on Facebook and liked things that you posted a few years ago, but seriously stalked. To the point where a person turns up where you happen to be. Where you no longer feel safe revealing anything about yourself and no longer go by your actual name and use an alias instead.

When we hear about such cases, we tend to think of celebrities and such, but what about the everyday people? We rarely hear about the cases where someone has been stalked in a creepy way. My mother used to date a man that had a stalker - she used to hang cooking utensils in a tree outside his home. Never found out what happened to her though...

stalker1.jpg

I personally have had a couple of awkward stalker cases now. My favourite stalker... if I can have a favourite, was a lovely man. Short, quiet and a little bit of a creep factor, he found out I was attending a night out with a bunch of ladies. At the end of the night he approached me, asking if I would like to go to a party with him. I politely declined and headed home. I didn't realise that he was a stalker until he messaged me on a social platform (not a dating one either). I ignored him and didn't think anything of it, until he tried several more to reach me online. It got to the point I had to block him and deactivate my account, change my name on other platforms and keep my image hidden on different social media platforms.

Has anyone else had this happen? I just want to know.

Sort:  

Congratulations @msdelawit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09