You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 05/15/18> “Will EAT BBQ 4 U “ Vol. 7 Aunt Pookie’s BBQ , Houston, Texas

in #blog6 years ago

How do you rank the various BBQs? For me it's:

  1. KC style. (I did grow up in NE Kansas).
  2. Texas style. (Yum yum mesquite.)
  3. North Carolina/South Carolina style. (I know they're completely different, but I like both of them and have a close friend who advocates each, so I don't really want to play favorites.)
  4. Everything else.

I also don't eat pork, so take that into account.

Sort:  

I would rank various BBQ's in this order

  1. Texas Mesquite
  2. Texas Pecan
  3. Texas Hickory
  4. Texas Oak
  5. Texas Oak w / any of first 3 woods

After the top five nothing else matters in my book, except I would put BBQ from the Mid South last, putting cole slaw on a BBQ sandwich should be against the law.

Well now. I think the Texans do as good with beef as anybody. But putting anyplace above Arthur Bryant's in KC is a stretch for me.

And the North Carolina mustard cask pork is a pretty good touch as is the South Carolina vinegar based BBQ sauce.

Just my opinion, of course. But I am a fat boy that travels in defense of my bona fides.

When you live in the promised land of BBQ you don't eat BBQ in other places, in fact seldom do even leave the promised land anymore of my own choice. I lived over in Mississippi for a couple years while I was having a cutting horse trained there by one of the best trainers in the business and so I have tried Memphis BBQ and the mid south styles. I have been to the Carolina's and just wasn't my cup of tea, mesquite is just hard to beat for me.
I never tried the Arthur Bryant's so I can't say, when I have been to KC I have always opted for steaks. Have had some great steaks up there though.

In the early 70s the New York Times named Arthur's the 'best restaurant in America'. Quite a departure for them. Part of it was probably that Arthur had bought the former Slave Auction in KC and that's where his restaurant was (and still is). It's more formal now, but still with damn fine Q under the direction of Arthur's Granddaughter. Arthur took great pleasure in the fact that a black man owned the former auction site.

I tend to agree with Mesquite. It's near a weed here so there is lots of good smoke material. Some Pecan, too.

I like when family businesses are able to continue on threw multiple generations, so often the second or third gens just end up selling it out and cashing in since they have little invested in it financially and in most cases, emotionally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62405.22
ETH 2436.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62