Happy Chinese New Years!

in #blog6 years ago

Happy Chinese New Years everyone! Actually, I think its more politically correct to call it Lunar New Year since many people around the world celebrate the same holiday!

I tried to take the day off to clean the whole house and help my parents prepare the new years meal, but instead I was on call for a work emergency and spent about 5 hours working while trying to clean and cook. Of course I'm going to charge that time rather than take the day off, but I just wanted one day to myself!

It's alright though because I like working with the new client and it was a legitimate emergency!

Outside of that, lets look at the main feature of chinese new years dinner at my house hold! I'll follow up with another post, I just want to upload some photos and tease you guy back in with some actual video of the process!!

This is a Canadian Goose thats been prepped with a special mix of ingredients. Good is a gamey and tough meat to eat, and while there are much better tasting and softer meats out there, a New Years goose has always been a tradition in my house. The marinade is a specialty of my parents home town and you cannot find a goose spiced in this way anywhere else in the world. It's a sweeter sauce made from a Hoi Sin Sauce base!

The goose is marinated for 24 hours at room temperature before it is braised and then boiled for 2-3 hours.

20180214_215633.jpg

Once the goose is done, we set the goose and the other foods on a table and place it by the altar of our most recently deceased family member of the household. For me it is my father's father, or my grandfather.

20180215_180652.jpg

Happy Chinese New Years guys!

Sort:  

Looks delicious, it would be interesting to see the recipe for the goose sauce!

Stay tuned! I filmed the whole sauce making process!

Dude where are you from? Malaysia too?

I'm Chinese, but everyone in thst area celebrates similarly! I live in NY though!

Hah. I see. Chinese is everywhere these days :D:D:D:D We breed to fast lol.

Looks really good! Cool tradition! Honoring family and culture is not done as much as it should be.

It really isn't. If there is anything in the world that transcends time, its tradition. It's the one way to connect with the past the best.

Happy new year Kui! Too bad you had to work but it was good seeing you today in a great mood!

Happy lunar new year bro. I was actually looking it up yesterday and was thinking about making a post about it, but work happened.

Thanks man! I get the work dealio. That's why I don't get to steem as often as I'd like!

What's in those lil round plates in the top left?

Those are steamed cakes!

the post is steady but really sad for me because I have to see through translit

&#128183 Cool! This is helpful. Thanks & exceptional!

CONGRATULATIONS THAT RICE FOOD, IS THE YEAR OF Shiba Inu???

delicious ....... hopefully be a dish for all of us? buddies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41