Sort:  

I well remember the days of Lycos, Netscape, AOL. I used to use Yahoo a lot when it first came out as well.

For the life of me I don't know why we don't see more YTers. I have personally invited at least a dozen. They try anything and everything to get views, but seem to refuse to try Steemit!

I recall those old search engines as well. I seem to remember that Google search was basically built on top of Netscape Navigator?

On the second point.

Yep It's a weird one? Some of my blogger friends seem really freaked out?
It's almost as if they can't believe that it actually pays out more than what they've been slaving over for years.
I must say I was pleasantly surprised by my results.
I wasn't expecting to earn anything but I really like the steemit platform and the people I've met.
Maybe they've met a few spammers here?
I did see one known spammer. Bilal Hader rep-1 followed one of them?

Yeah I have had two people come over that both had made over one hundred dollars on a post, and seemingly quit thinking it was a scam LOL. What kind of scam pays you lol. I feel like asking them if they don't want the money in their account, to send it to mine!

Haha I know, it's nuts. I really don't get it. Where are they getting these ideas? I did that video to counter the other nonsense that's on the web but you know. People like to think the worst. They're comfortable with that I guess?
Haha ask for the donations, that might wake em up?
Just so you know. My vote power is struggling to get above 50%. I can't stop myself voting good stuff up. But I'm trying really hard to not upvote anything until my voting power goes up.
I'm trying to do this without 'buying in' so I can fully state that all earnings were made from interactions and posts.
What are your thoughts? Good idea or plain dumb? I'm conflicted lol Nice problems.

People don't realize that they score a lot of money thanks to ads. Many stuff would have been unaffordable if it were not for ads. The only reason for my absence is a shortage of time :(

Ads for sure made me a lot of cash but the game is changing...again. This time next year the whole Ads model is dead.
Unless you have millions of subscribers who you can upsell other products too. There will be virtually no earnings from ads.
This is just my opinion based on my research and Google's plans. I'd rather be building the future than hanging on to a dead tech duck. lol
My time is far to short and valuable to just 'wait and see.' I do wish you all the luck in the world @martiecoetser in whatever route you pursue.

Have you bought anything with your earnings yet?

Yep. Yesterday I bought a security feature that notifies me if someone tries to take money out of my account. It takes 3 days to take money. So you have time to block any transactions you haven't authorized. Cheap too.
I see you've made $0.62 already?

I thought it was just for blocking harmful ads that might contain malware which is sort of like antivirus and malware protection built-in to the browser.

Nope it's primary purpose is to get people to pay for the content they consume. The issue is. Who is going to make any content for such paltry rewards?
Some people are trying to make a living from their content. They are doomed unless they have millions of followers or some other products to upsell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66852.45
ETH 2597.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66