I miss home, sometimes.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Homesick 6.jpg

I miss

England. I left England 7.5 years ago. I'm 30 now, so I was pretty young and though I never regret turning my back on my home country, I do miss the peace, the beauty of the countryside, the vast fields.

I miss

climbing through the trees at the back of my garden, running across a rugby field, clambering over a wire fence into my school's field, running all the way across, maybe get caught up in some 2 boys vs 10 girls football game, before going to class.

I miss

going through a little forest to a muddy or wheaty field, depending on the time of year, across a golf course, pocket some stray balls, observe some wildlife, over another field into the far side of my middle-school field.

IMG_0019.JPG

I miss

missing the bus to school because I'm lazy and tired, having to get the public bus to school, which was 45 minutes of detouring through country roads and estates.

I miss

going through the sports field at University in the icy winter, laughing at the freezing football players, only to realize they're probably warmer than I am.

I miss

white Christmases with beautiful robins curiously looking back at me through the window.

IMG_8146.JPG

I miss

building a pond with water features from scratch with nothing but my hands, a spade, and my granddad (who did 90% of the work. I told you, I'm lazy) in my back garden, growing gooseberry bushes, apple and pear trees and peas, raising chickens, running around the garden in the morning looking for stray eggs for breakfast.



Me when I was 15 with Henrietta

I miss

taking my dog for a walk in a national forest barely 20 minute's walk from home, seeing all kinds of butterflies and fish as I went.

DSC_0398.JPG

IMG_6127.JPG

I miss

blue skies and starry nights.

Nowadays,

I'm trapped in one of the biggest mega-cities on earth. There are parks. You can cross from one side to the other in 5 minutes, but you have to charge through thousands of citizens in order to do so.

Or if I want a bigger park I can get a subway full of thousands of smelly carcasses spitting everywhere, a taxi to a crowded entrance gate with kids peeing all over the floor and in the trash bins, pay the entrance fee, follow the flow of human flesh, and surround myself in selfie sticks for a few hours before exiting and immediately facing concrete again for the next month or so.

At night, if I'm lucky, the sky is clear and I can see up to 3, maybe even 5 stars if i stare long enough.

For all its flaws,

England is a fantastically beautiful place. I've been to the Himalayas and seen the most stunning sights the world has to offer, yet I'm still drawn to the rolling hills of the Yorkshire dales and peaceful barbeques in a big homely garden, squirrels and all.

DSC_0384.JPG

Sort:  

Cant beat the English countryside & a nice pint of ale on a summer's evening.

Im happy to be back after over a year away, but its only for a short while.

I always miss little aspects when abroad, but it makes coming back all the sweeter!

True. When I do go back I'm gonna be like a tourist in my own home!

Hmmm..! Home is Home I miss my home when I'm at hostel I know your feeling :(

those are amazing pics I like them thanks a lot for sharing and keep on posting ;)

Thanks =) I should do more photography here, I think

Personal posts are my favourite. Thanks for sharing. This was great.

That's good to know. I typically stay away from my own thoughts but could be a more frequent thing!

I think you should, your you thoughts are some of the best ones :D

Great work my friend @mobss

England sure is a pretty country with every kind of environment you could wish for, apart from deserts lol Great photos btw.

I've been to a desert... not the most desirable place to live!

Me too. I was in Kuwait last year. Not much to see and pretty dire to be honest. I love England. It's just so beautiful and I understand your homesickness. I felt that when I lived in South Africa but in reverse.
OK, now I'll have to write a blog about it to explain lol Thanks for the inspiration.

Yeahhhh glad to be of service. Kuwait is super hot...

I miss England too.

No idea why that bird picture made me so happy!

Great post :)

A fluffy dinosaur ^__^

It's not changed to be honest! Come back!

I'm pretty settled here... If I went back I'd be going back to nothing - No home, no job, about 2 friends and family spread around the country. Just more opportunities in ugly mega cities!

Maybe in the future you'll come back even just for a holiday :)

yea we all love our country hope u get there =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53