The three keys to happiness

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking we keep postponing the things we’d rather do. We should stop complaining, we should stop constantly saying that we don't have time to do things we like. This is why I’d like to share with you today the things I want to do and how I'm going to make time, meaning, take time out of my busy schedule so I can do those things. Let’s start.

book-1659717_1920.jpg

1-I've decided to buy the double issue of the TIME’s magazine at least once a month.
You might be wondering why. The answer couldn't be more simple: because I want to read a magazine as important as this one. I think I don't read enough because I'm constantly either working, watching TV series, hanging out with my friends or doing volunteer work. I’ve put some thought into it and I've decided it's best for me to read about what's going on in the world.

girl-2618562_1920.jpg

For those of us that like a little bit of ‘light’ reading this is our magazine. Plus, it's an incentive that it costs money. That way I will be throwing my savings away monthly, unless I start reading more often. But, where can I possibly read? Well, for starters, when I wake up and I'm having breakfast; when I'm taking the bus to work; when I'm on a break (while drinking coffee); when I get home from work; before going to bed… The opportunities are endless.

beard-2642609_1920.jpg

2- I've decided I need more hours of sleep in my life.
Have you ever felt like falling asleep in front of your laptop? Have you ever needed coffee or else? Have you ever felt like using a co-worker as a pillow during lunch? Well, if you have, you definitely need to start thinking about the consequences of being restless due to stress or Game of Thrones.

sleeping-1159279_1920.jpg

I am speaking for myself when I say from now on I will try my best to go to bed before 12 p.m. Unless, of course, we are talking about a special occasion. Then, God help us all!

sleep-1209288_1920.jpg

3- I've decided to say no every once in awhile.
There are many kinds of people, I am definitely the kind of person that can’t say no and, therefore, will try to do everything the same afternoon because I am excessively optimistic about the time I have. This usually translates into me saying yes to 3 different plans and having to run from one place to another because I am arriving late to everything. This means I can be in two places or three places or four places at once but not enjoy any of the activities I had planned for the day. This is why I needed an intervention. The people that care about me told me they were feeling neglected because I was never on time and I took off after an hour and a half.

no-3033069_1920.jpg

Hence, I've decided it's time to be more calm about things, stop running for change and start living and start enjoying the company of the people I am with. I am not saying I've stopped being an optimistic regarding time but I am trying to change my ways in order to be less stressed out and be more happy instead.

I don't know if these things are of any help to you but I thought I should share them. Sometimes the simplest things are the ones that are quite difficult to achieve.

All images were taken from www.pixabay.com

#happiness #attitude #change

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @misssand to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11