Trying to Get Organised and Getting on Top of Cooking.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

I've been trying to get myself organised again and into a routine so I can start cooking more again. The decorating of the last of the bedrooms has been completed and things have been moved back in out of our living room. While I've been concentrating on getting that done, we've been getting a lot of take out food and chores have been sliding in the rest of the house. It's been a bit of a downwards cycle.

20180825_141658.jpg

Too much junk food has left me feeling drained and in a bit of a brain fog, which has not been helping me to try and catch up with everything in the house, let alone get on top of cooking for the family again.

I’m tackling it step at a time and starting with simple meals for the most part, before taking on trying too many new recipes. I'm writing lists on the whiteboard of things I want to try accomplish each day, but at the moment some things are getting carried over as I run out of time. I'm trying not to let that worry me too much as I'll not get anywhere if I get stressed about it.

I’m feeling less lethargic already and the kitchen is looking a bit cleaner than it was. I'm also starting to see some of the laundry floor again, unfortunately we're running low on hangers as we haven't had that many clean clothes at once for a while!

It's one of those things that you don't realise how much junk food affects you until you move away from it. When you get takeaways there are no ingredient lists with them, so it's hard to know exactly what is going into it.

Preservatives are in most things these days and they probably affect us more than we realise. In small animals, birds for instance, preservatives can cause them to lose the use of their legs, first, then over time, if not discontinued, can cause complete paralysis. Like the canary, they can be a indicator of what is happening in our own bodies. I guess it shouldn't be a surprise that continually eating junk food can make us lethargic.

Recently, wild magpies and crows are being brought into vets in more often, unable to use their legs properly. These are birds that will raid our rubbish bins for scraps, so what are we consuming for them to be having such issues? This is a new side to the problems of food waste.

Anyway, back to me trying to organised...

I'm taking things step at a time and sometimes its just quick meals, but as long as they aren't full of additives, then I'm not going to beat myself up about it. As I get into a better routine I can hopefully start trying out some new meals so we aren't constantly in a repeat cycle of the same meals. I have a friend helping me out with meal planning a and tips for having a list of quick meals for those days when things don't go to plan.

I have very little news on the garden while I've been focusing on getting the house straight. I did manage to transplant some onion seedlings and have had to cover my efforts with some wire, as a magpie lark seems to have decided I made a dust bath area just for it. It's too cute to get mad at, but it was a bit disappointed when it came in for its spa today.


~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube

Sort:  

Aww hun sounds like you need a big hug 🤗🤗
I think we all go through stages like this so don't be too down on yourself.

I find cleaning and cleansing ones space helps out tons in terms of energy flow and I'm sure once all of that is sorted you'll be back on a roll with everything.

You'll be right love ❤❤

As for the preservatives and wildlife. When we first moved up here we were told not to feed the birds with bread but to go buy bird seeds ~ something about bread not being good for them. Can only assume the preservatives has something to do with that.

Ohhh ps..
@naturalmedicine !!! https://discord.gg/zDmryV
I found it yesterday, loved it, was disappointed to see you weren't there.

Thank you. I'm improving, just taking things step at a time and prioritising rather than getting stressed (or at least trying).

When I look at bread ingredients, there aren't many that I would even eat myself. Preservatives in nearly every loaf and I'm not great with soy, so it's annoying that most have soy flour in now. I'm also trying to move away from wheat so much as my digestive system can only tolerate it in small amounts. I don't particularly want to end up celiac. The family l love their bread, though and I've yet to find a replacement they'd be happy with. I gather there isn't much nutrition in bread for bird's needs either, which is no surprise these days.

I struggle to keep up with discord channels, so I limit it to the most important. I may join the naturalmedicine one at some point, but for the moment I keep up with what I can at the account. When I get better organised I might join up properly and delegate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhh I'm struggling with channels too and was thinking of leaving homesteaderscoop since I dont think I'm a member and I'm restricted to 1 channel. Anyway, I can always stalk you on here

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't think that most of the channels were restricted. The only locked ones, as far as I'm aware, are the vendor and contributor ones which aren't really relevant to those not vending or contributing anyway. I wonder if @sagescrub can enlighten us more on it.

Posted using Partiko Android

From my app I can only see read me first and general chat. I assume the rest is for vendors? I'd eventually like to be one (actually working on a product now!!) But dont know how long that will take :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sure there should be more visible than that. Hang in there a bit longer and see if Sage can help when he comes online.

Posted using Partiko Android

Start with NOURISHING yourself. Everyday. "Eating" is not the same as nourishing btw. Get some simple tools to help - a slow cooker burbling a nourishing veggie-bean soup while you work outside. Add 5 mins for an easy salad and you're DONE. Your energy and outputs will improve on all levels! Yay you for FEELING this and starting on a different path.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Yes, nourishing food is the struggle with regards to feeding the family. There aren't many meals that everyone enjoys eating and some of my gang will just refuse to eat it and get takeaway if I persist in cooking what they don't like. They'll eat it once, on the day, then ask me not to make it again. My daughters don't get as much choice, but hubby is stubborn. I've developed methods of sneaking in the nutrition to foods everyone will eat, but it can make it more long winded. I've found my blender useful in this regard and add veggies to sauces that they won't eat separately.

Had a slow cooker and ended up getting rid of it, because hubby didn't like having liquid meals so often. It also didn't work very well. It's coming up winter now, though, so I can get the iron pot on the woodburner.

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't know that about birds, its very concerning. I hate to imagine what preservatives are doing to our bodies. It can be hard to consistently eat healthy, home made meals with a busy lifestyle. Good to see you're making small steps.

Don't be too hard on yourself about not checking everything off your to do list, maybe even try and put a few less things on there if you can. As for the clothes, have you considered Marie Kondo-ing some? I'm sure you could minimise some and fill up a bag for good will.

Good for you @minismallholding!! You are awesome to make such a commitment to your health :)

Thank you for the moral support. I'm probably going to end up getting a take out tomorrow, because my daughter has gymnastics comps so well be out all day. Back on track straight after, though. I think I've been sleeping better this week, so improvements already.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's better not to be all or nothing anyway, that's too boring :) Its so great that you support your daughter's passions and activities!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48