Tesla, Benchmarking and the Weaknesses of Hierarchy

in #blog6 years ago

Namaste.

Recently I came upon a video discussing benchmarking and some of the problems with Tesla. I see Tesla much like I saw the dot coms of the 1990’s. Awash in credit yet unable to make a profit… strange that would happen… isn’t it? I guess people fall for promises all the time.

In any case, the video demonstrates a flaw in Tesla’s design that I think, in the end, will prove fatal. The body design is overly complex to the point of being practically ridiculous. For example a wheel well on a Tesla is comprised of nine parts in what for the car industry would normally be one. In addition, they are fastening the pieces together in multiple ways. What that translates into over the long term is a car that it is going to have an endless amount of squeaks and rattles as it ages. A self-inflicted fatal wound for a car at that price point in my opinion.

I have briefly looked into some of the long term tests of Teslas and they already are having a lot of squeak complaints… even on the new cars right off the showroom floor.

How does something this egregious happen when it’s common knowledge within the industry?

The weakness of hierarchy.

Putting one person in “control” of something raises the possibility of a incredibly big blind spot. One person can’t simply know all the things it takes to even run a business efficiently. If one witnesses the work of some of the best leaders, they do there very best to flatten out the organization or at least give that perception. To distribute the roles and responsibilities and authority. Because feedback is important. The Japanese car manufacturers proved it very well since the 1950’s by following Edward Deming's ”Admonitions”. They were able to take car manufacturing to an incredible level of quality, efficiency and productivity in comparison to Western factories. They organized people into teams and distributed responsibility of the end product all the way down to the individual assembly line worker. Anyone could stop production. If it meant a better product, a more profitable product or an easier method. Anyone could stop the line and discuss it. It worked so well, every car manufacturer in the world had to pay attention to it or go out of business. It held up production initially but typically within about two weeks they were already reaching industry standards. Within a few months they were doubling it and delivering a higher quality product to boot.

Yet, Tesla missed it while being “innovative”.

I strive to be a Peacemaker, an Entrepreneur and a Ambassador for Great Ideas (ie a Problem solver). I also wish to be a Artist, a Mentor and an Ethicist one day. At times I struggle to communicate the passions I have but I endeavor to do so meaningfully from my heart to others. All as I enjoy my life as a never-ending vacation in a place I adore. I care about what I do, I care about the people I do it with and I leave the rest to fall into place. ~ MikeonFire

Sort:  

Still a very nice looking car. I wanted a Tesla until they launched one into space. I am not sure why that event turned me off them so much. Maybe I don't believe 100% that it happened. People say there are a lot of things between here and there that are disruptive. I'm not an astrophysicist so I am not about to proclaim it didn't happen. I also like to believe as much as I can that we would not be so blatently lied. Still something about the whole event just never sat right with me.

They don't have to speak to the whole crowd. Just the segment they need to think it was "cool!" Whenever I see these flashy billionaires and their great ideas I think of this Twilight Zone episode... especially ones promising a trip to space. It's only 24 min. it repeats for some reason.

I loved that show!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49