Beljanica - Mountain in Serbia

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

"Nature is, after all, the only book that offers important content on every page."

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

100_4971.JPG
I conquer this peak few years ago. I won't say when. It doesen't seem like it was so long ago. :)
It was autumn, like now, and the weather was perfect for hiking/climbing. Maybe because of that, this mountain remains in my recollection as the most beautiful one that I've encountered .
The first stop before we approached the mountain, was at the monastery Manasija. Manasija is a Serbian Orthodox monastery, founded by Despot Stefan somewhere between 1407 and 1418 and soon after, it became the Serbian cultural center. The monastery is a real jewel of Serbian architecture, art, and culture. Manasija complex was declared Monument of Culture of Exceptional Importance in 1979, and it is protected by Republic of Serbia, and monastery have entered a UNESCO Tentative List Process in 2010 (information source).

100_4807.JPG

Monastery Manasija

100_4819.JPG

Next stop, Beljanica... :)
Beljanica is one of the largest limestone mountain of eastern Serbia with the highest peak of 1339 meters.

100_4849.JPG

Onthe way to the top, we enjoyed the nature. That made our climbing easier.

100_4856.JPG

We had time to rest and lying in grass. :)

100_4861.JPG

100_4873.JPG

After the long hiking only the rise through the beech and oak forest separated us from the top which wasn't a bit easy. We rested leaning against the trees.

100_4907.JPG

A few more unforgettable sights...

100_4911.JPG

...and the peak was "mine"!

100_4939.JPG

What a sight! The top was rocky, and because of the white color of the rock it's assumed that the mountain got its name.
After short break, we headed back, where a few of us got separated from the group. Lucky for us we found the right way. :)

100_4973.JPG

This mountain is also known for its caves. The most famous one is Resavska cave, length around 4,5 kilometers. An interesting part is that less than 3 kilometers were explored.

Hope I pass to you some of my enthusiasm. Thank you for riding! :)
Greethings, Milica ;)

Sort:  

Awesome Click !!! Nice to meet you.
You may feel frindly to check my @babuplrk Graphy.

I will! Thank you for visiting!

I love the quote you began your post with. I absolutely love nature and it looks like you had a ton of fun on the mountain!

I always did. Every mountain I've been on was different, beautiful on its own way. But this one is somethig special. I still remember climbing there in details.

That's awesome!

Odlicne slike

Hvala! 😊

wow very beutiful places really mny thanks dear. there are alot to shwo from serbia. so keep going dear; you look very pretty and sweet in that picture. wonder if you have bleu eyes right??

Not blue, brown. Sorry! 😊
Thank you for your comment. Glad you like my post. 😉

you are welcome.

amazinz and lovely country nice shots congrast i folow and resteem!

I appreciate it. Thank you!

Wow.. so wonderful 😊 It looks like a fairy-tale castle

You are absolutely right! 😊

Loving your outfit! Especially the fanny pack. Looks like a really beautiful hike.

Thank you! 😊
I intend to go there again. This was a long time ago. 😙

very nice location , great photography and you look beautiful

Thank you very much! 😊

Russia is so beautiful! I've spent time in the Rocky mountains. I've never heard what the names of the mountain ranges in Siberia are called. How tall are the peaks? Many here are 14000 feet/425meters.

This is Serbia, Balkan. The highest peak of Serbia is Đeravica on mountain Prokletije, and it is 2,656 meters.

Sorry, I'm reading do much I forget where am at. You must be in very good shape to hike so high. I live close to sea level and get winded even walking our little hills. The world is so big! I want to see all of it. Thank you for sharing your part of it. I'm trying to share mine but can't upload photos but I'll keep trying until I succeed.

Thank you and good luck. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65676.04
ETH 2615.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65