Reading one book a month.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Today I want to talk about a little challenge that I've set for the year 2018. Over the holidays last December, I was talking with a history teacher. He told me he was about to finish his 100th book for the year 2017. 100 books a year, that boils down to finishing a book every 3.65 days on average! At first, I didn't believe what he was saying until he pulled out a list of all the books!

That got me thinking about my own reading achievements for the year 2017. I read some books, but for sure not a 100! To challenge myself for 2018 I've decided to read one book a month for the whole year.

As a result, I received a whole bunch of books from friends and family that I'm supposed to read. Here is a small collection of the books I've planned to finish for the next months.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 21.45.48.png

January: Nineteen Eighty-Four - George Orwell

The first book on the list was Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell. An all-time classic that I can highly recommend. I found it especially interesting since when comparing the story with today's world, where privacy is more and more compromised due to the increasing importance of the internet.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 22.11.06.png

February: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn - Mark Twain

The second book, which I just finished is The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain. Again a classic, this time from America. It is an adventure story dating back from 1884! The story revolves around a young boy called Huckleberry Finn. He travels down the Mississippi river and gets caught in all kinds of trouble. The story is closely related to another book by Mark Twain called The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, a book I'm planning to read later sometime.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 22.11.15.png

March: Of Mice And Men - John Steinbeck

For the month of March, I'm going to read Of Mice And Men by John Steinbeck. Although this is not the first book I'm reading by Steinbeck, I have absolutely no clue what the book is about since I received it as a Christmas gift. In a later post on this reading challenge, I will give you my view on it.

Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 22.11.23.png

Future reads

Additional books on the list so far are:

  • The Great Gatsby - F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • To Kill a Mockingbird - Harper Lee

My plan is to also read some Dutch and German books to keep my other language a bit upto date. Finally, I must admit that I've cheated a little bit for the month of January. I've started a week earlier with the first book! Therefore, my plan is to finish a week earlier, right before the holidays in December!

Thanks for your support!

Sort:  

To kill a mockingbird is a good book. Another book which I found helpful is 50 Proven Ways to Enhance Your Memory by Dominic O'brian.

Ah cool, Ill add it to my reading list! Thanks for reading my stuff!

No worries. I like great content!

I like how you arranged the books and the rustic feel. I would like to mention you have the same knife as I do. This is my favorite brand. Not my most favorite model but do like the brand.
There's sentimental value here.

Thanks! The books are lying on an old wooden trunk that used to belong to my grandpa. It was used by him when he was sent to indonesia by boat as a Dutch soldier in the 40s or 50s. I use it now as a coffee table. Ill write a little post about it with some pictures sometime :)

Great challenge, dear Michel! Please share here the impresions of books you read.

I will for sure! I think I will finish this month's book ahead of schedule :) Thanks for reading my stuff!

This is awesome, Michel. What a great challenge. I would love to take this on myself but I'm not sure if it's realistic for me right now. What I have been doing is setting at least 45 minutes a day to reading - no intention of finishing it within a certain time frame - as long as I read every day that's cool for me :) Good luck!!

45mins a day is also a nice goal! Yeah i hope im not running into a book thats a slow read ;) Thanks for reading my stuff!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74