My First Double Country Run In Months -- Preparing For A Race

in #blog6 years ago

On July 4th, there will be a run organized by the university at which I perform my research. It's a 5555 meter long run across and around a hill called Lousberg

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.30.28.png
Lousberg close to Aachen. Source: Wikipedia

Although the race is quite short, the hill makes it a bit more challenging. The total elevation gain is around 73 meters. Here's the running track for the run:

Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.37.25.png

It has become kind of a tradition for our institute to sign up for the run as a team. Actually, my co-workers and I apply so much peer pressure, it is hard for newcomers to not join :)

Since it has been almost a year since I've last did some serious running, I thought it is about time to get back into shape again!

Today was my first run in a long time! I thought it was best to get into it slowly again. I ended up running only 3km:
Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.23.26.png

The fun thing though, while living close to the Belgian/Dutch/German border, is that you can pick your favorite country for your run. Today, it was a German day (the grey line is the border between the three countries.
Screen Shot 2018-06-19 at 22.22.57.png

Once I'm back into shape I will do a triple country run crossing all three countries!

Thanks for stopping by and happy running!

Sort:  

Congratulations @michelmake: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

How fun that you're also running. I just started to run again myself and posting about it here on Steemit is motivating. I guess 73 meters is quite an elevation for living in The Netherlands :) I now follow you on Strava and look forward to follow your progress towards the race :)

Haha yeah, actually one of the reasons I didn't run so much is because I didn't want to deal with the hills that are surrounding my house since I've moved. Well, I guess it's a lame excuse :P I started using Strava only recently but so-far it looks quite nice. I should try and record the run itself. I bet other people will do it too!

Aren't you competing in this cross-country skiing competition at some point? Are you training for that?

Definitely a lame excuse! Hehehe, the hills just add to the run and give some strength training along the way! I'm just back after some training in the slope. The hill is 85 meters from bottom to the top, and steep. It's quite horrible. I was with a friend so we pushed another hard on the third climb, after that we didn't cope for another... And yes, you remember correctly, the skiing competition in April next year is part of my motivation to get more fit, and hill climbing is perfect for that. :)

I guess I should sign up for more races, just to keep going :P

whatever motivates you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36