Is National Geographic Magazine Trying To Be Ironic?

in #blog6 years ago

Since quite a few years I have a subscription to National Geographic Magazine. The Dutch version that is. Although every month I try, I often can't manage to read the whole thing. Despite not using the full potential of my subscription, I'm not canceling it.

I think National Geographic is doing a great job in creating awareness for all the harm that we are causing to this planet. They also fund a lot of great projects that I think are valuable to this world. All in all, I think this is something worth to support!

To my annoyance, the monthly issue is delivered in a plastic wrapper. As a society that is trying to educate its readers on the environment, global warming, nature, pollution, I think National Geographic should know better.

A few days ago, again I received another issue wrapped in plastic. This month, however, is a special issue on plastic waste and how it affects the planet! I couldn't believe it, is NG really that naive?

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 22.40.29.png
A plastic wrapper around a special issue on plastic waste!

After being surprised for a few minutes I opened the plastic wrapper and found a letter explaining what I've just received. NG has now switched to bio-degradable plastic wrappers for their Magazines.

Screen Shot 2018-05-28 at 23.08.03.png
Bio-degradable logo on the plastic wrapper.

Well, I must admit that this whole experience made me think about our customs when it comes to plastic. Probably even more than when this issue would have been delivered without the plastic wrapper. Well done National Geographic!

Now, it is left for me to read and finish this magazine!

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

It's unbelievable how much is covered in plastic. Hopefully it will all be banned or switched to bio-degradable. It can't be the responsibility of the consumers. We do have subscription on National Geographic (original version), but don't always find time to read it. Should, because a lot of learning on interesting themes! :)

Congratulations @michelmake: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82