Funny Traditions - Germany's Alternative Valentine

in #blog6 years ago

Valentine's day is the annual opportunity to secretly show your love to someone. In Germany, however, there are areas where men get a second chance to show their interest in a girl later in the year.

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 20.36.02.png

On the evening of April 30th, young single men go around town to put a Maibaum (or Maypole in English) in front of the house of single girls. The tree, typically birch, can be several meters tall and is decorated with colorful paper. Sometimes they even come with a heart with the name of the lucky girl on it.

While on my way to work this morning, which is a 15-minute walk, I spotted somewhere around twenty trees all over town. I decided to take a few pictures so I could share them with you:

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 20.36.33.png
This one even has a little card with a message "für Felice" ("for Felice").

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 20.36.46.png
The trees make the streets a tad more colorful!

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 20.37.25.png
This picture shows clearly how big these trees are sometimes!

The trees are often bought from a local forester. However, some men harvest their own. This activity is not without risk! You can get fined for it! My colleagues even told me that the police has extra patrols in place in city-parks to catch the occasional amateur horticulturist.

How weird it might seem to some, I really think this is a nice tradition. While writing this post, however, I started to wonder what the girls receiving these trees think about it!


Thanks for stopping by | Michel

Sort:  

I've never heard something like this. But this gives me a feel good factor :)

Quite a positive thing right!

What a cool tradition - especially for the ones taking pictures :D
What the girls are thinking? I suppose it all depends on who's 'planting' the tree :D

Haha yeah, it made my walk to the institute a litle more entertaining! Today on the walk I double checked and counted 27 (!) trees. I gues you’re right about what the girls think :)

So it means at least 27 very determined men...! A fun game to watch :)

We have a tradition in Southern Romania (now kept only in villages and small towns) to decorate a tree one day before wedding by sigle friends of the newlyweds. Its presence simbolizes manhood, wealth and happiness. The tree remains at newlyweds gate for 1 year.
I like the one for Felice :)

Interesting, I can imagine if they have to stay for a year, there are quite a lot in the villages :P When I checked Wikipedia for Maypole traditions I realized how common this celebration is, however, it varies a lot geographically. Thanks for reading my post!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61952.36
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64