An unexpected mystery plant in my window sill

in #blog6 years ago

Plant with a story

For probably five or six years, I've been taking care of an Aloe plant that I've received as a housewarming gift while still studying in Delft. Over the years the plant moved with me to several places I lived at. Once in a while, took cuttings from the original plant once it grew too big.

Screen Shot 2018-04-02 at 16.44.16.png
A happy family of Aloe.

The cuttings make a great housewarming gift when put in a new little pot (hence the reason I got it in the first place). Especially the fact that the plant or cutting has a little history, makes it fun to give away! Some of the cuttings I gave away made it to houses in Dublin Ireland and Copenhagen Denmark. The original plant became a real traveler in the end!

So what about that spring gift?

Well, right around the beginning of the winter, I had to trim down the main plant into smaller pots again. While doing so, I also added some new soil that I took from some old pots I had laying around my balcony.

Now, over the past few weeks, a little plant started sprouting. At first, I thought it was a weed that probably needed to go. After forgetting to remove the weed and returning from ski holiday, I found a bigger plant that I think might be useful.

Screen Shot 2018-04-02 at 16.59.44.png
The unexpected gift of spring.

The plant looks to me quite like a tomato plant. I'm not 100% sure though. I recall that the soil I added was once used for either tomatoes or hot peppers, so it could be either one. I'm no expert such that I know exactly what plant it is. Perhaps some of you can tell me:

Screen Shot 2018-04-02 at 16.58.38.png
Close-up of its leaves.

Otherwise, in a few weeks from now, I hope the mystery plant will bloom such that I can finally see what salad to make later this year!

Thanks for reading my stuff!

Sort:  

Very fun! It will be interesting to see where this ends up. Seems like you have green fingers! 🌱

Well, "green fingers" I'm not sure. But I do like to do a bit of gardening! In my previous house, I managed to grow quite some tomatoes and a bunch of salad. Was pretty entertaining to do! No space for that atm, unfortunately..

It's fun to grow your own food! We have a little field in our garden where we do that, salad, carrots, potato, zucchini, herbs and more. I love it, it's fun from start to harvest :) Tried tomatoes once though, and they grew pretty good, but then we left for a four week vacation...

Yeah, that's always the problem. You need someone that can water them. Otherwise it's a waste!

That's what I learned... :)

It looks more of like leaves of the tomatoes for me. Well, let's just see in the days to come until it will bear fruit then, that will be the uncovering of its identity :D

Yeah, I thought the same thing, but I believe pepper plants look very much alike :) I'll let you know what comes out in a few weeks! Thanks for reading my stuff!

You're welcome :D :D I haven't seen a pepper plant before though.. :D That is why i can't compare. But seriously, it looks like a tomato just like what my grandma have in her garden. But yes, let me know what comes out.. I'm excited to know too. HAHA :D

Eigenlijk moest ik een beetje lachen op het einde van je blog...toen ik de tag #gardening zag. Wel een heel klein tuintje. hahaha
Wat de plant betreft, ...geen idee. Heb zelf geen groene vingers...
;-)

Haha, ja ik probeer toch altijd 5 tags te vinden. Misschien had ik die eruit moeten laten. Bedankt voor het checken van mn post!

Nice, you have got a great spring gift I would say! 👍

your @mynaturebody 🌱

Yeah I think I did! Unless it turns out to be weed after all in the end ;p Thank you for reading my stuff!

It looks like a tomato plant to me, too.
You've made me curious! :)

Yeah, I secretly think so too. More than the pepper, but who knows. I'll keep you posted on the developments :P

That's so funny. Hopefully it doesn't shade out the aloe plant though. :)

Those rugged aloes will survive for sure! If the new neigbour takes too much light they’ll probably eat it or something :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52