Something I've noticed about the Steemit Community

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

Since this disaffected and self-imposed 'rebel' and the others, bots or not, have started flagging comments, I've noticed one thing - a VERY important thing.


video from youtube

The community pulls together and counteracts the destructive behaviour. People vote on comments now, when we didn't really do that (or at least, I didn't).

Now, since the Roadmap announcement, I've been trying to get into the habit of upvoting comments but it's taken something like this, an attack on our community, to bring people together to actually DO that.

So, rather than mentioning names and bringing more attention to them, and rather than bemoaning their behaviour or calling them out on it (when that will only feed egos and make them believe they're right), I'm THANKING them.

I see comments with at least 4 upvotes on my blogs now, when there used to be none.

Thank you. You've inadvertently done this community a great service.

Steemit people, you are awesome and this proves it (again) for me.

Sort:  

I have noticed a general increase in the number of comments being posted as well.

Yeah, that too!

What an awesome thing that's come out of all this... :D

Comments mean more than an upvote to me, it shows the person actually opened the post! Maybe even read it ;)

Very true :)

Although, I don't always feel compelled to comment once I've read a post - maybe I should.

That's the way I feel about comments, too. That being said, I need to do more of it myself, lol.

Nice Michelle !
I spend many hours reading and usually also comment but sometimes reading is just enough :)

Thank you :)

Yes, I can look up from my computer and wonder how it got dark so fast :)

Oh yes! That can become a problem too Haha!

I've never seen that video before, thanks for sharing it.

You're welcome!

It first came to my attention as an ad against drink-driving and it obviously struck a chord with me :)

Ok, that's stuck in my head now. I hope I don't start singing it in public.

Hahaha! Video or it didn't happen ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Commenting means that your post is at least intersting. Maybe a comment is worthy enough to be upvoted. We don't know everything so I think that commenting is most welcome.

I enjoy reading the comments too, you're right :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57