MedicBTom Weekly Blog #2

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

The first time i wrote a weekly blog was actually 2 weeks ago: before I left on vacation. Ive been back for a few days now but been busy at work... so now I finally have a free chance to update you on all that's happened in this incredible 2 week period.

IMG_4767.JPG

First off: Alaska! It is incredible...
I plan on writing a segment purely on my trip but I will condense it down a bit here. The view outside my window lets you know how incredibly large Alaska really is; and that's probably about 1/2 inch of view on a map of Alaska.
IMG_4766.JPG

Landed in Anchorage and the outside temp was 42 degrees... sun was out and it actually felt like 70 degrees back home in California due to the dry air. Drove about 30 minutes and stayed in Girdwood at Alyeska Resort where we stayed for 6 nights.

IMG_4724.JPG

Day 1: Slushfest at Alyeska
Day 2: Matanuska glacier
Day 3: Whale watching
Day 4: Helicopter ride to Spencer Glacier
Day 5: Snowboarding in Alyeska
Day 6: Kayaking in the Ocean
Day 7: Anchorage

Biggest news! I asked my girlfriend to marry me on day 4; which was my birthday. The helicopter ride to the top of Spencer glacier - I got down on one knee and said I wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. She replied "YES!"

MNEW2804.JPG

Some photos of our trip:

IMG_4695.JPG

IMG_4651.jpg

IMG_4672.JPG

IMG_4629.JPG

IMG_4604.JPG

IMG_4612.JPG

I have gopro footage and a digital camera pics as well: these ones I just picked off of my phone. Even though these pictures are incredible: Still doesn't do Alaska justice: You need to see it for yourself if you haven't already.


Paramedics-Victim.jpg

Work: Slower this week than normal but still had some really interesting calls. I will stay HIPPA Compliant where you cannot associate these calls with anyone in particular: No personal info will be revealed.

hipaa-logo-certificate.png

Brain-Aneurysm-1.jpg

Aneurysm: Sad story here: Mid twenties at work and suffered from an aneurysm. Out of nowhere co-workers noticed facial drooping on the left side and had complaints of not being able to use his left hand. Talking all the way until EMS arrived then went unconscious. Appeared like a seizure until the story started unfolding. I didn't have any history... unknown if its genetic or drugs were involved. But it is scary that at any second: life as you know it can end. Basically its a weak point in an artery bursting like a bubble causing blood to spread in the cranium. There is barely any room inside so the increased pressure will cause the brain to compress and the only place for it to go is through the base of the skull: Foramen magnum. This increased pressure causes a specific posture called: decorticate posturing where the person curls extremities toward the core.

DA3C34FF3.jpg.png


TRANSFUSION-superJumbo.jpg

Dialysis: Kidney failure will result in dialysis treatment a few times a week which is a machine that filters your blood. Your blood gets pumped out of your body: through a filter and then back into your body. Actually they weight the person before and after and usually its between 2-5lbs difference. This person was thought to be dead by staff and started doing CPR. This actually happens all the time: people freak out and cant feel a pulse.

full-sized-banner-slider-paramedic-cpr-patient-road.jpg

While unhooking the person from the machine; respirations decreased and pulses lost. CPR and epinephrine were given; tubed and achieved ROSC (return of spontaneous circulation) aka alive.


shoulder-fracture-treatment.jpg

Shoulder fracture: Elderly woman who fell in her home and hit a wall then slid to the floor. Cutting her sleeve: found an obvious fracture that did not break the skin. Placed in a sling and given an IV. Morphine made the bumpy ride to the hospital tolerable where she needed surgery.

TriangularSling_full.gif


meanings-of-health.jpg

Well I have some good news: I do not need a root canal: well atleast not in the near future. The dentist did say it is inevitable that one day I will need a root canal or have the tooth pulled. So incase you missed my last blog: I thought I had an ear infection but it was dull tooth pain on my left side due to an old cavity. The Dentist gave me antibiotics and filled the cavity once again. I will spare you from any images of tooth decay.

Ketogenic-Diet-Pryamid.jpg

Diet: I have decided to do a Keto diet starting Monday so I am eating everything I think I will miss until then. Had Tikka Masala last night - FIRE house sub sandwich today. I'm looking into it and you basically cut out sugars and carbs which makes sense because then your body starts burning your fat to get sugars. Apparently you get headaches the first 4 days because your body is having sugar withdrawals. Sounds fun. A few co-workers have done it and seen really positive results. So I will keep you updated with progress once that diet gets started.


crypto_host_wallpaper_by_kejnav-d4vs2oo.jpg

Crypto: This one is going to be fairly simple. I stopped trading around because it wasn't working for me - I don't have the time to watch things close enough in order to profit because by the time I checked again in several hours someone dumped and I'm left in the dust as a sucker. So I am concentrating on 3 main coins:

EOS
IOTA
ICON

IMG_4292 (2).JPG

All 3 are third generation blockchain and so these are just getting noticed. Actually IOTA isnt even blockchain its in a category all by itself called TANGLE. Right now second gen blockchain is in the spotlight such as ethereum. But these chains have scaling flaws and high fees that have been addressed by third gen technology. This is the future of Crypto and I like to be ahead of the curve because when they start to get noticed: Profits soar. But beyond money: I do believe in these coins; the leadership behind them and what they can do for our future.


Stock%20market%20Preview.jpg

Stock Market: The first few days of this week were bad: Bond yields went above 3% which scared the market because it costs more for businesses to borrow which will slow the economy down. A few businesses smashed earnings reports and accidentally said this is as good as it will ever get: so the stock plummeted - CAT being the one I'm referring to.

TECH was huge in the second half of the week.

Facebook is the one that saved me: I think most thought FB would miss its mark after the Cambridge data breach and its wake leading to Zuckerberg testifying before Congress. I admittedly tried to delete Facebook right after the scandal; but for different reasons. I went thought the entire process; entered my password and facebook said "Sorry to see you go". BAM! Deleted... or so I thought until my fiancé said she could still view my profile.

So I looked it up... apparently no one can delete their profile. So I knew that subscriber numbers means something to the company and when it reports its quarterly report and says we have X amount of facebook members.... it will go up. Especially when everyone else is thinking it will take a hit. Anyway... I turned out to be right: Facebook went up 17 dollars per share and it saved me from all other losses for the week.

If you want to know what my losses were: Apple and Tesla calls: stayed pretty much flat and didn't move so as I speak right now... my calls are expiring in 2 hours and unless some crazy miracle happens where they both go up 5 dollars per share then my calls will expire worthless.

I have to be cautious approaching the week ahead: Too many political and world events going on that may affect the markets. I was watching Cramer's Mad money and he cited 12 major events that the market has to survive which he called the Gauntlet.

Maybe ill buy a lottery ticket of VXX aka the volatility fear factor scale: long term call... just in case if something goes array in the world.


breaking-news-.jpg

There always seems to be something crazy in the news. I was out of touch with the digital world when I was in Alaska so the biggest thing in the news right now is Bill Cosby found guilty of sexual assault 3x. Each has up to 10 years punishment in prison. Given his age: this most likely means he will die behind bars. I grew up in the 90's: I remember the Cosby show but its crazy to think that he was the role model American DAD. I love the discussions on the Joe Rogan podcast and I think he says it best: so I will leave this here for you to enjoy:


4544481362a342e39417127f95999fd4.jpg

Currently playing FARCRY 5 on PS4. About half way through and I love it. Big fan of the Far Cry series and this one does not disappoint.

far-cry-5.jpg

On the computer I am playing Outlast: an older survival horror game that I found on Steam. Has incredibly tense moments where I found myself actually terrified.

outlast.jpg


Weekly MEMES FOR YOU TO ENJOY:

IMG_4761.JPG

IMG_4756.JPG

IMG_4758.JPG

IMG_4762.JPG

IMG_4757.JPG

IMG_4742.JPG


Until next weeks blog: Stay safe and have a good week!

medicbtom.png

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

**All pictures that were not from my iPhone where taken from bing search engine

Sort:  


Andrea Constand, center, after Bill Cosby’s conviction. (Photo: Getty Images)
Bill Cosby's prevailing accuser, Andrea Constand, is a lesbian. Here's why that matters:-

Although more than 50 women have come forward with their own Bill Cosby sexual assault accounts over the years, the entertainer’s three-count conviction on Thursday came down to just one: that of Andrea Constand, who, the Pennsylvania jury found, had been drugged and sexually assaulted by Cosby in his home 14 years ago.

“United we stand,” tweeted Constand not long after the decision was handed down at the Montgomery County Courthouse, along with a photo of herself going in for a celebratory hug.


The pressure on Constand was fierce, as hers was the only criminal case against Cosby; in many of the other women’s cases, the statute of limitations’ time frame had ended. “She is the linchpin of the case,” Lynne M. Abraham, a former Philadelphia district attorney and judge, had said in 2017. “The whole case stands or falls on her. She is it.” Still, Constand remained steadfast in her legal fight.

On Thursday, the day the verdict was read, many observers made a point of highlighting what turned out to be a noteworthy personal fact about Constand in the case: her sexuality.
“Before the national reckoning around sexual harassment and abuse that prompted the #MeToo and Time’s Up movements, Andrea Constand … came out publicly in 2015 as a lesbian to challenge her attacker’s assertion that he knew how to read the desires of the women he assaulted,” noted national LGBT publication the Advocate in its story published Thursday about “the lesbian accuser who brought down Bill Cosby.”

The story explained that in 2015, Constand’s attorneys noted, in a motion, “As defendant [Cosby] admits in his deposition, despite his talent for interpreting female reactions to him, he did not realize Plaintiff was gay until the police told him.”

Further, in 2017, the New York Times reported that Constand had told investigators about previous times that Cosby had made sexual advances toward her. “I was kind of embarrassed really,” she’d said, noting that she was gay and that the feelings were not mutual. “I never really thought he would have hit on me. He is much older than my father.”

Echoing recent connections between gayness and activism, as made by Parkland shooting survivors including Emma Gonzalez, some of Constand’s supporters celebrated her sexuality on Thursday — which just happened to be, to their great delight, Lesbian Visibility Day.

This is lifted straight off of Yahoo! News, and since you've been spamming it on quite a few posts today, I have to wonder if you're a bot. Spamming plagiarized intellectual property.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46