My Account Profile was stolen...please Help me!!!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

something very odd happend last night. When I was browsing thru the users that I am following, I recognized one user @bearbear613 who is having the same profile picture as I am.
I was really shocked to see that, and first I was thinking maybe this is just a display failure. But the picture did not disappear and mr @bearbear613 is really using my profile picture.

My_Image_bearbear613.jpgMy_Image_masterthematrix.jpg

That felt so strange for me, because I never made my picture public and I dont know how he was able to get it. Maybe this guy somehow managed to access my account which really would be the worst case, but how is that possible? I am on steemit now for two weeks and I really dont want anybody else walking around with my head on his shoulders.

stolen.jpg

So please all of you good steemians...please Help me to solve this Problem.
Does anybody know how he could get a hold of my profile picture?
Does anybody know how I can stop him from using it?

Please resteem this post so I get as much Feedback as possible...Thank you all so much!!!!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @masterthematrix.

One way to address the problem......would be to report it to @cheetah and or @steemcleaners.

Hope you find a solution.

First of all you probably don't have to worry about your account being hacked because all profile pictures are public on the blockchain and someone doesn't need access to your account to get it.
Second thing is that anybody can upload any profile picture they want and you can't stop that, your best chance is trying to contact that person maybe via comments on one of its post and trying to resolve the problem directly with him.

Haha, yeah that happens sometimes!

Well...........there goes peoples REAL pic on profiles. Never thought of that but Im changin mine also. Maybe to some animal with paranoid tendencies.

I'm actually a gentleman panda. Good day to you sir. #TipsHat

Great thank you for your responds. I am trying to get support from the community so that everybody knows that this person is doing something wrong. It is not ok to take a real life picture from somebody else and pretend that this is him. I want that the community is aware of @bearbear613 that he is promoting himself with a false profile Image. I don`t know why he is doing it and why choosed me as a victim... if my efforts with the community are not working I will try to solve the problem by contacting him!!!

It is good getting the community involve but I still believe you should try to contact him in parallel(without waiting) to resolve the issue sometime exposing people publicly(using comment on his post) and asking him why he did that and if he could stop could just be enough for him to change his profile picture. But then this is just my opinion do has you wish.

That sucks! I changed my profile pic because of the fact that the profile pics can be used this way. I dont think you got any real good answer here. That answer would just piss me off. Change your profile pic to something else. Good luck.

Yep you got it....it is really sad that, unfortunatly you have to take the risk, when you want to use your real life photo. I am glad that this post could help other people to avoid this kind of problem!!!

Looks like he or she took the pic down. I also wonder if he or she thought it would help his or her following numbers....and I think it would! he had commented before on his numbers as they were so important my take is he or she used your pic to up his followers numbers. Who knows its a bullshit thing to do or to be ABLE to do period.

You mean this one?

It sound stupid to make a fake account

Help you to resteem this post

Keep us update

Thank you so much!!!

Dude ... just your twin. but seriously why would someone do that?

I had the same thing happen this morning. Each time I went to my blog, my photo was replaced with another account holders face...it happened a few times. I thought it was a glitch. Maybe @cheetah or @steemithelp or @steemcleaners can help out.

I saw it once too. It's clearly a bug. This user has most likely, innocently jumped to conclusions, and mistakenly ill spoken of someone, getting 690 views and 24$ in so doing...

RESTEEMED!

Hope you get to the bottom of this!

keep us UPDATED!

Great thank you so much for your support!!!

no prob bro!

Thanks for your donation what is it for?

DONATION!Opportunity Costs!I HAVE A NEW SPORTS EPISODE OUT called "SPORTS_chatSPOT",maybe you could START with this one,please!episode #1

https://steemit.com/sports/@kid4life/sportschatspot-ep-1--the-gangster-vs-the-axe-murderer--bellator-180

A LOT MORE IS OUT !

CHEERS :)

Outrageous and brazen. Hope I can help you my friend! Resteemed and promoted! Have a great day!

Damn, that is f#ck up. He probably did a PC screenshot and did some minimal editing to fit it in the fake profile pic. I believe many people will soon be victims of users/hackers who want to get extra Steem by spamming the creation of new profiles and much more

Probably a novice. Don't sweat it, the only thing this spammer did was help you get noticed and Re-stemmed... In this case is bring you more traffic to your profile and past posts. This kind of attack doesn't really affect you since they are no exposing data that could really harm you, just your face as far as I know. It only benefits you, immensely

I wonder whats going to happen when the big booty chicks and body builders celebrities of IG come here. OH BOY...

The identity thief's will be showering on Steem Power, upvotes and more after all the traffic pouring from the sexiest people on earth. Who is going to catch them or how will Steemit handle this problem? Its a reality!

Oh my god your are so right about this...I dont think in such a bad way, but honestly people try everything to bring more attention to them no matter what, gggrrrr!!!

kenapa teman,apa yang terjadi sebenarnya

Why friends, what happened actually

Well I just followed him because he was following me. We never really had contact...thats so weird!!!

Ya same as me ,,,,, I follow a lot of people but others do not follow me a lot ,,,,,,,,,, hahhahah ,,,,,,, but for me no problem

Ok, could you please write in english???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54