Making my new backpack!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


  Hey steemians! This article is a step by step of how I turn my grandma's old maxi skirt into a backpack.
 

The reason I did this is because the one I'm currently using is starting to ... Well, you take a look. 


   It's a Victoria's secret, really pretty and simple. But sadly I use it every day and even have to carry my lunch, 2 water bottles and my makeup case. It obviously wasn't design for that.


Lesson learned.   
After a lot a pattern searching and looking for a simple and discreet model.   



 I used the pockets from the skirt. And the straps are the part where the buttons go.
It's a nice touch.   

 When cutting the fabric, I personally try not to waste it. What I mean is that I cut the fabric in a way that the rest can be used for another project.



I just wanted to see how it was turning out, at first it looks a little too square but if you potion the top of the straps closer, it loses that shape. It's a matter of taste.  


 Comparing both of them the new one is stronger in both volume and weight. Considering how soft the fabric is.

A friend and I are planning on making a couple more detailed and with better fabric. This was just and Upcycle project, kind of the prototype .   


     That's it, hope you guys liked it.
Any questions, comment or similar post, feel free to leave them below!
Thank you for reading!
 

To now a little more about me drop by my introduceyourself 

Sort:  

the final product is just awesome. great idea :)

Thank you!
:)

I could appreciate the results in person and it was a excellent job! 🙆

Thank you Ari!

An Excellent job**

Smart. Very cool to turn things into other things. Up voted. Resteemed.

Yes, I tried it when ever I can.
Thank you! Glad you liked it.

Perfect hand made, @maryher! Especially in pair with Angry Birds toy : )

Mirala vale, qué creatividad :D

Si! Cualquiera cae :P

Es en serio, gafa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85