This Little life Of Mine - The Pointlessness Of The Achievement.

in #blog7 years ago


Saturday, 28th October, 2017.

10.05

I awoke to the postman hammering on the door. My Sleaford Mods tickets had arrived(Thanks D. 😘😘😘), along with a guitar pickup I intend to put in my resonator. I think I'll wait for a bit before doing that though. Hacking through the metal body of a £600 guitar requires balls of steel!

12.44

I've just finished off a little video project. Again. Achievement makes me feel whole. Irrelevant of

the pointlessness of the achievement.

I think we are going to pop into Windsor later. Just to get out and for a change.

14.12

I'm just sitting in the car, being driven to Windsor by Carter. We failed miserably, on the "being good today" idea but at least we are stepping out of the greyness. Even if it is only Windsor.

My hoody is in wash so I've got my James jacket out. It always gives me the illusion of youth.

15.11

We, pretty much, headed straight to All Bar One. Sustainance was required. It was also the first place we saw. I've been there loads of times. It's OK. The bloody Mary was £7.50 so I opted for a pint of Guinness and Carter has a fruit cider. We chose a suitable table and commenced with the people watching.

The problem with All Bar One is, it generally attracts your "ponsy families with kids who think they are too good for Wetherspoons" types and the "If I dress like I'm 20 and cake on make-up, on people won't know I'm Spanxed up like a bondage rape victim under these inappropriate clothes" ageing mums out with(like-wise) friend types. As Carter informs me, I'm such a bitch!

Besides that amusement, we had steak baguettes, which were nice. It has an excellent onion chutney.

 

16.01

We had a slow wander about. I popped into Havana House, a good old school tobacconists, and bought some Lucky Strike cigarettes, or weekend fags, as I like to call them. Then we walked up towards the castle. I know that to some people, it would be an event, seeing Windsor Castle but I've lived locally, most of my life.

It's definitely time for another drink!

16.23

Windsor high street is a bit crap, in the pub department. So instead of the inevitable Wetherspoons, we chose differently.

I gather from the many pictures on the walls. Prince Charles, once, "accidently" went there for half a pint. He didn't look that impressed but that didn't stop them from capitalising on it.

After getting drinks and sitting down, I realised there was a hell of a lot of fleece in the place. Just groups of blokes, wearing fleece jumpers, trying to pretend the people they were talking to were life long friends, not just other sad, fleece/rugby top wearing losers. Who had just realised, that by following the 2.4 children rule, the best yearsof their lives had gone. I had a moment of empathy. Luckily, my narcissism kicked in.

None of them were more than 10 years older than me. I saw no resemblance. Just sad fuckers. I looked down and saw the checked pattern across my James jacket.

Fuck, I'm cool!(gotta get me a beige one!)

After a visit to the toilet, I decided against trying the, ever so trendy, gin bar. Quinine has two effects on me.

1. Makes me want to have a, shall we say, bit of a cry.

2. Uncontrollably violence towards things that disgust me.

Time to go home. On a positive note, the pub did have old school, paper, stripy, drinking straws. Which was nice.

21.53

Home. Kids fed.

I think I'm going to put a preamp/pickup in my other acoustic tomorrow. That's achieving shit, that is! Then play guitars and feel good about myself........Oh. I almost forgot. The Duchess Of Cambridge did have one redeeming feature. A chandelier made of pint mugs.

I love shit like that. One day I'm going to make something similar out of my mass collection of Patron bottles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55