Anxiety and Calming An Anxious Mind

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Anxiety. Its everywhere. That word has become so commonly used its almost overlooked now. It has become a joke that is very played out.
"I'm anxious." "My anxiety is so bad right now." says everyone and anyone.
I think we tend to overlook the actual mental disorder and that people, myself included, actually suffer from this. I want to share some of my best tips on how to deal with anxiety so your life can be a little easier.

Take Time Off
I can't stress this enough. If you are a workaholic and you haven't taken a vacation in years. Please do. The time away will give you some peace and quiet that your over reactive mind desperately needs. Even if you have to call in sick and take just one day to clear your mind I promise you that it will help. If you are looking for a sign, this is it.

Delete Social Media
I have currently just started doing this. I deactivated some of my social media platforms that were just making me even more anxious. Seeing what other people are doing, how much fun someone else is having, or even just comparing your life can be dangerous when your in a fragile state.

See Your Therapist or Doctor
Now, I am not a doctor or therapist. I can only give you my own personal advice and ways that help me. A doctor can do a lot more for you than I can if it is a more serious case. They can prescribe you medication that can help with symptoms that make life hard. I am a huge supporter of medication when needed and I always try to encourage people to do the same.

Eat Healthy Whole Foods
The last thing you want to do is eat a huge greasy meal because you are feeling low. If you consume healthy alternatives it will help your body in the long run. I know I know, everyone says it. I am very guilty of indulging but I always regret it when my tummy hurts. It just makes everything worse.

Play With Your Pets
I currently have a cat and I got her because I needed some companionship. Having a pet around can lift your mood and give you a reason to smile. You cant be unhappy when your kitty just looks so cute.

Now, last but not least...

Meditation
I try to practice meditating at least once a day. Just sitting still and leaning into my mind and body really helps you ground yourself. I know that this will not cure your anxiety but maybe it will give you at least 5 minuets of peace that you deserve.

That's all for this post! Thank you so much for reading and I hope that some of these tips will help you. I would love to go more in detail about a lot of other mental health issues so please leave any comments and questions below! I will try to get to them as soon as I can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28