Baking bread..we all have our 'baking mishap' stories. Some old, some new.

in #blog6 years ago

P_20180222_190514.jpg

This was taken right after it came out of the oven. Too hot to slice. When it was cool enough, dinner was ready and we just dug in. Totally forgot to take another picture.
Then it was gone.

Baking can be filled with pleasure, but it can also come with huge frustration.

Never forget when I was in my middle teens and worked as a nanny for a pig farmer and his children. Outside of nanny job I also helped with the house hold. Baking, and when your fluid is not warm enough..

I was resourceful, so I took the kitchen aids metal bowl and plunked it on the stove top. Low setting of heat, that should do it....hahaha

A few things happened, and the first was that the plastic part on the underside of the bowl got lightly melted!

Since the dough was mixed, it kind of got cooked, in the bowl, on the stove top.

It was back to basics and mixing the dough old school style. We did get bread, and I have never been let off the hook from hearing this.

Baking, when done the easy way is far more interesting and fun. That's what I did the other day. I tried coconut flour bread 'headbanger kitchen style'.
You can find Headbangers kitchen on you tube of you are interested. He cooks/bakes keto style.

I needed;

16gr psyllium husks ( about 7tbs and this works as a glue)
125 ml warm water
75gr coconut flour
salt
1tbs baking powder
6 eggs (I used 5 because in his video he said the bread tasted a bit of egg. I didn't want that)
100ml oil

I was ready! Had my 2 bowls out, electric handheld mixer, warm water, the scale to weigh..ready.

The psyllium husks absorbs a lot of water. I added a little bit more than the recipe said, when mixing these two ingredients in bowl one. Set it to the side so the husks could swell.

Then I mixed all the dry ingredients in a regular breakfast bowl.

In my second bowl I cracked the 5 eggs I was using, beat the eggs a bit with the mixer before slowly adding the oil. Kept on beating the mixture until fluffy.

Added the psyllium husks to the egg mix, and mixed well.

In this fluffy mix I added the dry ingredients. The fluffiness of the egg/oil mix mattered because it made the finished dough full of air and very dough like, like with regular flour.

In to the middle of the oven, about 50 min later on 170 C....

Headbangers kitchen recipe was amazing and I will absolutely do this again, and SOON.

Sort:  

Yes it was indeed the tastiest Ketogenic bread I've ever had!
Link to the Headbanger website
https://headbangerskitchen.com/
and his youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/HeadbangersKitchen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45