Can money follow joy?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

8x10 Poster Designs_PRINTFUL holla for dem dollas.png

I've heard the old saying "do what you love!" and while I agreed with it and encouraged everyone else to do it, I couldn't bridge the gap between doing what I loved and getting out of a career I felt stuck in but paid me quite well.

It's like I would see other people following their dreams but it somehow felt impossible for me. I decided that I didn't know how. And because I didn't know how, I couldn't take a first step. Because after all...I didn't know how!

That was my first clue by the way. 2 years after choosing to follow my dreams, what I've come to know now is that the 'how' was irrelevant all along. It was irrelevant to me choosing myself and to follow my dreams.

The CHOOSING is what's important!

Once I actually chose me and my dreams, it opened the doors to the universe showing me how. Isn't that backwards? I know! I know!!

So anyway, back to the story...

Here I was and I wanted answers. Not even answers. GUARANTEES. I wanted to make sure I would be safe and secure and make lots of money. I wanted someone to tell me, "Mariana, you follow these steps to the T and this is what will result and this is what the journey will look like EXACTLY. And you're guaranteed happiness and fulfillment." I was looking, hoping, praying and wishing to be saved. I now know that I wasn't looking to create my life. I was looking to be saved.

Here's the thing though. In order for money to follow joy, you have to be the leader. You have to be the creator of your life. And then money will follow you...

Well that's a little tip that would've been useful years ago!

So what happened when I finally chose me even amidst all the uncertainty of how my life and money would turn out?

I didn't die!!

I didn't go bankrupt!

I wasn't out on the street as I had feared!

In fact, the opposite. Looking back on it from 2 years after leaping (and a 1,000 leaps after that), I can't tell you how. Because it wasn't a how. I chose and I surrendered. At times kicking and screaming and at times totally blissfully.

Does any of this sound easier than you might have thought?

What if it could be a simple choice now? A quiet strength? A resolve to choose you no matter what that looks like? I choose myself now. No matter what it takes or what it looks like, I choose me and my dreams.

Universe, I surrender.

Show me the way...

And then what? What do you do next?

You start following your whispers of joy. You start asking and wondering, "if I were to choose just for me and just for fun today, what would I choose?"

Try it. What one thing can you do today that will bring you joy? Just for you? Just for fun? What if you did that everyday this week?

And P.S. You deserve some applause for trusting in you and following your dreams. I personally like to celebrate that with a poster on my wall.

xoxo,

Mariana


I run a fun website called Coffee Break. It's an inspiring community inviting entrepreneurs to have more fun on their journey! I also design fun goodies like posters and leggings to rock your day. Check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97