My Year As a Freelancer

in #blog6 years ago

I was expected to finish my studies in December of 2016 and to then enter full adult mode in January 2017. Unfortunately, as life is, I was thrown a curve ball. I had to redo my thesis this year.


Source

Now the fact that I only have my Bachelors degree, it becomes incredibly difficult to be considered for any job in the media/publishing/writing sectors. I applied for countless jobs and then actually had a surprising load of feedback and interviews. I did, however, never make it past the interviews, or where I interviewed with recruiters and they sent my CV along, nothing ever came of. This is, as most of you know, an incredibly soul-crushing time of your life. So what did I do about it? I gave up... sort of.

Since I had a lot of free time I created a profile on Upwork and started doing all kinds of work. I started out transcribing top secret shit and then after things picking up slowly I finally started doing what I was trained to do. I started proofreading and editing a bunch of stuff and I also translated a few projects I'm really proud of. I singlehandedly translated a grade 5 Natural Sciences textbook as well as a whole range of grade 4 math workbooks. I even translated a really old divorce certificate.


Source

Although it is not ideal to not have a steady income I get to work on the most interesting stuff. And now as my profile progresses I am incredibly blessed with more and more work and offers. Seeing as I'm still struggling to get my ethical clearance to start the research for my thesis I might have to do this for another year. It's really tough for me to work at home and see no one so I'm starting to apply for a bunch of internships and junior positions.


Source

If you have any tips on how to stay sane at home or of more places to check out for work, please feel free to let me know.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by maretha94 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Study for master degree. And I think Steemit is a best way. You can be full time Steemian.

That's good, you have the patience to be noticed on Upwork. I have never been successful on such sites. Perhaps I have no patience to keep bidding so I never get anything. Haha. But then again if you keep on bidding and not get any project, Upwork will suspend your profile or something. Way to go! Lol. I prefer to freelance on my own, at least I get some projects here and there.

Staying sane at home means taking a break from all the work for at least a day or two. Go out and do something else. Haha. There are plenty of other freelancing sites online. I'm sure you'll make it there as well. If you like to do simple tasks then I have the perfect site if you'd like to try it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94