Please Repeat

in #blog7 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg
(Not me, Google Images)

This could be part of Strangers are Strange series but I find that it isn't the strangers that do this but a few family members, people who know I am deaf and are familiar with me.

Situation:

Other Person: (Says something to me and I couldn't hear it)
Me: "I'm deaf remember, can you repeat that?"
Other Person: (Obviously a bit irked having to repeat)
"Nevermind, it's not important"
Me: "If it's important enough to say in the first place surely you can repeat it for me?"
Other Person: (Storms off)

This is the most irritating thing you can do to a deaf person, nothing pisses them off more. If you go to the effort of getting a deaf person's attention, say something and then say "Nevermind, it's not important" then what's the point of talking to me? I could've done something better with my time now I just feel not worthy and they feel pissed off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43