The Road to becoming Debt Free - My Journey and goal for 2018!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

A life free of debt is my goal for the future...


Hello again my Steemit friends!


Near the end of 2017, I shared with you all that my goal for 2018 is to become debt free. I'm hoping that through some cutbacks on spending, working extra at my day jobs, and by blogging on Steemit, I may achieve this lofty goal.


Thankfully, I'm not saddled with too much debt that it may be possible to pay off with hard work. I've managed to pay off my credit cards, but now I'm left with student loans and a car payment.


My total debt is just under $20k usd. It would be life changing for me to get out from under this burden. I spend over $500 a month on the bills related to my debt. This would be money I'd get to keep out of my paycheck instead. This would give me more opportunities for things like getting my own home, or helping others when I'm able. There are also many business opportunities I could try if I become debt free as well.



I've begun analyzing my spending habits, and I'm working on ways to cut back. Doing things like not going out for coffees and expensive foods is first on my list. I'm planning to start bringing my breakfasts to work evey day, which should help my overall food bill quite a bit. I've also stopped buying things like lottery tickets and other pointless items. Slowly but surely, I'm cutting back on pointless spending. I'm excited to see what other things I can do to help the process.



DQmVPRKy11MPKHauKhaGCqs27jdMWT9NF5c7qihpMHCvxuF.png



I'm very grateful to have found the Steemit platform and all of the amazing people in the community. I'm happy this opportunity has come where I can not only share my story, but possibly get rewarded for it as well. I'm happy that you all seem to be enjoying my blog posts!


All of the support you've given me on Steemit is wonderful. I'm very humbled that so many of you are supporting what I'm doing on the platform! The blogs, the radio shows, the live streams, my photography... it's all a blessing that I can share it with you. Reading your comments and interacting with you all on Steemit is awesome!



I'll continue to bring you all updates on my progress becoming debt free. I'd love nothing more than to one day jump on here and do a vlog post showing you that I'm now debt free!



Thank you for continuing to support this blog! I'll bring you more updates very soon. I'm well on my way to achieving my goal!


Thanks for reading,
Feel free to leave some replies below!


I'm no expert of anything, and this is not advice. Always do your own research. This blog is only my opinion only.


ma1ne.png

@ma1neevent


Sort:  

I have been paying off debt for the last five years but I still have over $23K in student loan debt. I am wondering if I will ever get that paid off.

here welcome debt free! STEEMCITYBABY!

upvoted and followed

SteemUSA

Good luck with keeping towards your goal, its amazing how a few little changes like the ones you mention which seem so small can all add up quickly over a period of time when you think about it

That is such a worthwhile goal I can't help but toss my coins into your hat!!! Keep up the good work :D

Any and all support is welcome! Thank you for the nice reply!

Good luck! A good plan and calculations is a good start to it. I hope you succeed!
(you have 11 months lets :p )

So far so good! I'm working on it lol thanks for the reply!

I am proud of you for choosing to use the 'Get out of Debt' card and taking responsibility. If only our governments were as responsible. Unfortunately I am afraid the way the laws are set up in the USA at least, that unlike 2008 - if our government or banks go under again - it would be a bail in rather than a bail out. They would take from our retirements to pay for debt. Laws are in place. Thanks for sharing.

Here Here , I am working off paying my debt it is only like £1000 but cant wait to get debt free. Keep going you know you gonna be debt free before you know it with the awesome show you do its hard for that not to happen !

Thank you for the encouragement, it's greatly appreciated!

Love this^ Great goal brother. 🙏🏼

As you say, quite a hefty sum each month to pay, will surely be a relief to get rid of that burden. I truly wish the best of luck to you, seems like you have the right mindset to do it!🤟🏼

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!

Best of luck with this. I'm so torn into paying off debts early and becoming debt free or stacking as much SteemPower as quickly as possible. Can't wait to see your continued progress and see if you manage to become debt free this year.

Yes I'm trying to balance everything and not go too over board. Still trying to live a normal life, but trying to cut back. Thanks for the support!

Yeah my wife and I are trying to do the same thing. We've been eating out way too much and just went grocery shopping this weekend to cut back on that. Good luck!

Sincerely, I know what being in debt feels like and then the aspiration of getting out. Although I am new to steemit, I have expectations as well. I am a finance student and I know about finance to some extent. I enjoyed this post @ma1neevent
I hope to get more of you. I followed you by the way.

Awesome, appreciate your support! Thanks for the follow!

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33