Whether or not your holidays are merry...

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I hope everyone is having a relaxing holiday season, but if not, that's okay too. Changing routine, being around family- no wonder this is a stressful time of the year! To keep my head on straight and my aura happy and bright, I have a few things I rely on during times like these. Thought you guys could also benefit- so here's my personal list.

  • Breathe

Yes, this seems simple, but focusing on my breath has helped me in so many ways. I've recently discovered meditation (thanks @jakenbake31), and ever since I've realized how important breathing is. When I feel my heartbeat increase a notch in response to a stressful situation, I check my breath first and foremost. I find that I carry tension by tightening my chest and holding my breath. When I take a huge, expanding-my-diaphragm kind of breath, I can physically feel the tension ease. If you're reading this, you might as well take one right now. In....one....two....three....hold....hold....hold....out....three....two....one.

  • Take time out of each day to focus on things you enjoy

I'm a huge reader- I love that I can lose track of time and reality with a good enough book. If you guys have any book recs, please leave them below- I'd love to check them out! I'm also a fan of the adult coloring book trend. Sometimes the biggest thing I want to worry about is how my favorite character will overcome their latest obstacle or what color looks best next to light purple. Think about activities that calm you down- how can you incorporate them into your daily life?

  • Reach out to loved ones

My best friends are my rocks. I'm such a fan of technology; I truly believe it links us all together (Steemit is a great example!) I'm lucky to have people in my life that I can lean on and vent to. The weight of anything feels lighter when you share it with a helping hand. I'm also a great listener, if anyone needs it.

  • Focus on the positive

This is easier said than done. The human brain is literally wired to focus on the negative- it's an evolutionary strategy to keep us on the defense. But there is so much to appreciate in this beautiful, crazy world. I'm a fan of lists (can you tell?) and so when I'm caught in a negative cycle, I like to make a list of all the things that I'm grateful for. Something about seeing the good in my life written down reminds me that they're real.

Sending love and happiness your way- here's my water bottle sticker cheering you on.IMG_9633.JPG

What are some things you guys do to lift your spirits? I'd love to hear :)

Positively,
Lyd

Sort:  

I go on walks in nature to get some fresh air and clear my mind--really helps me put things in perspective and appreciate the outdoors:)

That's a great idea!

Congratulations @lydthekid! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lydthekid! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64