Everyone’s a Little Narcissistic

in #blog7 years ago

They call Generation X, the narcissistic generation. In the online showcase of Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, young people these days can promote themselves as if starring in their own reality show. Call me an oldie – I’m only Gen Y and with a Facebook account too, in case you youngsters want to know but is tweeting your trip to the supermarket really necessary?

Back when I was a teen, getting a weekend job and finishing my GCSE’s were my goal. I did not consider my life to be interesting enough to document. It was the Nirvana era and everyone was worried about unemployment, including my parents.

Nowadays, it seems that the kids are indeed coddled into media-induced shallowness. Yesterday, I had the misfortune to glimpse at the vomit-inducing Kardashian Show. There she was, one of the sisters, shamelessly splayed out in a hospital bed, giving birth on television! It seems that there is no end to self-promotion. These days it is almost a prerequisite for Generation X.

Sort:  

It was a good read and I agree, Everybody is a little frustrated!

Yes, it gets a little much.

Honestly I can't stand all of these self-promotion. Why are they even famous?

It doesn't take much to be 'famous' these days.

I have found millenails to be the most jaded generation ever. I'm technically a Gen X ER having missed "boomer" cut off date so to speak. Most people my age don't have the need for social networking that they younger crowd does. I simply don't understand why young people are so wrapped up in self promotion. I've always felt the best way to promote one's self was through your actions and accomplishments. If you really are what you think you are , others will spread the word. Taking selfies and posting about your personal activities constantly kinda reminds me of the old axiom " all hat and no cattle" .

Just an FYI @luvbuniz GenX is often known as the lost generation not the narcissistic generation. I don't use that appellation myself since the post WWI generation is rightly the lost generation. Still I can see how the term can be applied since GenX is sandwiched between boomers and millennials both of which are larger demographics.

Agreed. It also takes time away from doing actual activities and accomplishments. My life has been so much better since deleting the FB app from my phone. My sister uses Instagram more since Facebook is for 'oldies'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44