Ø22: I failed ... but I don't mind

in #blog8 years ago


Beautiful dog portrait 'Clyde', by Anderson, Glasgow, ca 1864-5


Øutput 22

I have no idea what that dog portrait up top is all about. I stumbled across it today and it really had me giggling away like a schoolboy. Why is the dog balancing so well on two chairs? Why is he pulling off an almost-perfect Crufts pose? And why does the meta-description say it's a 'beautiful portrait'?

Art is weird sometimes.

But anyway ... I failed!


The Other Stories Write-A-Thon Is Finished!

Seven days ago me I challenged myself to write 5x short stories in a week. The idea was to get the stories around the 2000 word mark, and to have them ready to send to a copy-editor by the deadline.

Well ...

I managed four out of five.

I underestimated how jarring that shift from one story to the next would be. Just when you build a fully-fledged character with a tangible world around it, and you get lost in there for a couple of thousand words, it can be quite hard to simply finish, start anew, and go again.

There's a reason why prolific authors like to write books within a series. Ongoing stories told with the same characters within the same world. Because the character-building and the world-building is one of the biggest hurdles of the storytelling.

But I'm glad I learned something. I'm glad I'm moving forward with four new stories. One of which I'm silly-happy to have written. I love the idea, and there may even be a bigger story around it. A future novel?

... we'll see.

But here I am, awarding myself with a B for good effort.

Here's the final scores:

SCOREBOARD
Story 1 - 3051 words
Story 2 - 3048 words
Story 3 - 2087 words
Story 4 - 1523 words
Story 5 - 0


PROJECT365

A new story idea every single day.
Check out the previous ideas here

IDEA 124: A cosplay horror.

A girl who has a passion for dressing up like video game characters is sent a peculiar mask of a character she doesn't recognise. She tries it at a convention and fully gives into the character it represents.

Aku-Ma.

It just makes her confident at first, outgoing, willing to say whatever she wants, but then she starts to find herself becoming more and more violent.

It's only when she finds herself about to hit someone that she wants to take the mask off.

That's where the story starts.

Since she's stopped wearing the mask, she's been followed by what appears to be people wearing cosplay costumes. The story is about her trying to escape the cosplay characters and avoid the lure of Aku-Ma.


Profits made from this blog will go right into my ramen fund. Any more will go right into any future storytelling projects.
Oo oo ... go grab a free book!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54