Ø19: 2000ad - 40 years and 2000 issues!

in #blog8 years ago (edited)


2000ad hit the shelves 40 years ago and is still cracking on


Øutput 19

If you were to ask me what my favourite weekly comic is, I would punch you in the face. And in your sore and confused state, you would see me mouthing the words, 'two-thousand ay dee'.

Because I couldn't just tell you the name without giving you a bit of the spirit too. The same 'fuck-you' attitude that kept the stories coming for nearly forty years. It grates me that 2000ad never caught on in the states like it did over here. I mean, at least Judge Dredd made it big, but there's so many amazing stories from the giant catalog of 2000ad that I feel haven't been given their recognition.

I'd heartily recommend watching the documentary -- Future Shock -- to get a solid idea of the incredible punk rock spirit behind the publication.

I've got my copy of the 2000th issue and I think you should get one too. Even if you don't read it. Do the right thing. Celebrate the achievement. Clicky clicky.


It makes you wonder ... doesn't it?

What are you doing today that will still be kicking balls in 40 years time?

The Other Stories Write-A-Thon

Finished my 3rd story yesterday and I'm super happy with it. It's based on a recent story idea from my PROJECT365 and it's turned out great. Good organic ingredients, a bit of kitchen wizardry, a dash of coriander, and we have ourselves a nice story-pie.

SCOREBOARD
Story 1 - 3051 words
Story 2 - 3048 words
Story 3 - 2087 words
Story 4 - 438
Story 5 - 0


PROJECT365

A new story idea every single day.
Check out the previous ideas here

IDEA 121: What ever happened to the night man?

You go to sleep in your new house. You wake up in the middle of the night, hearing noises coming from somewhere in your house. You follow it to find an old man cooking. You ask who he is, and he says he's here to help. He starts offering advice and cooks for you and makes coffee.

And then just as he's about to say his name you open your eyes to find yourself in bed, with the alarm ringing. It's morning. You must have dreamt it.

The same happens the next night, and the next night after that.

Until one day you wake up in the middle of the night and he's not there, but he's left a note that reads 'come find me'.

So this sets you off in this mystery in the real world where you're searching for a man who appears, offering advice in people's dreams.

It would be this peculiar mystery where you find others who know of him and are also looking for him.


Profits made from this blog will go right into my ramen fund. Any more will go right into any future storytelling projects.
Oo oo ... go grab a free book!

Sort:  

Another interesting story idea. Also love the information about 2000AD. May just have to get a copy.

I'd definitely recommend it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83