Ø10: And then she went and broke her bones

in #blog8 years ago (edited)


A bone to pick you with.


Output 10

It seemed only yesterday that I was writing about brittle bones and as if some force of the universe with a sick sense of humour was listening in, my fiancée was thrown down a set of stairs.

I was happily on my way to the office, listening to podcasts, smiling, looking forward to a good and productive day when I got a phone call.

"Come home," my future father-in-law said. "It's bad."

On the way back I ran through every possible worst-case scenario and as much as I tried I couldn't calm my thoughts. My mind was on auto-pilot and was nose-diving. The cinema in my brain was having a horror special, all films with the same leading lady.

So I bussed, I ran, I worried, and I ran some more.

When I finally got home the ambulance was parked out front and the door was open. I stormed in to see the love of my life strapped to a gurney ... laughing her head off.

I know right.

She was high on laughing gas to ease the pain and was joking about how she felt like an Amazon package.

I asked what happened and apparently she'd slipped on her own shoes and rolled down the stairs, slamming her shoulder and her head into the floor and a radiator.

After a peculiarly laughter-filled ambulance ride and eight hours of x-rays and consultations, we found that she'd broken her thumb, her arm in two places, and she'd chipped her Humerus.

Of course I made the joke. How could I not?

"Doesn't sound very humerus to me."

I even added geeky little chuckle.

Anyway they plastered her up. There's a potential operation to be had. More appointments and consultations further down the line. But she's home.

She's comfortable.

And as I made her tea and kissed her good night I realised the horror movie wasn't as bad as I'd feared, but it damn well could've been.


PROJECT365
A new story idea every single day.
Check out the previous ideas here

IDEA 112: Another magic realist story.

A married couple are having problems. The longer they stay together the more they turn to glass. They don’t want to separate because of the kids, the finances, and because what they once had a long time ago.

But the doctor tells them that if they stay together, the more they will turn to glass, and the more chance they have of completely shattering one another.

But stay together they do, and after a fight at a friend’s New Years dinner, they break each other into thousands of pieces.


Profits made from this blog will go right into my ramen fund. Any more will go right into any future storytelling projects.
Oo oo ... go grab a free book!

Sort:  

Ooh, don't like either of today's stories! Hope Cat is alright.

Two tragedies in one day! She's all fine now she's got hot tea and the broadband is up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48