You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The face of real evil....

in #blog6 years ago

I don't think that anybody in a centralized position of power can see the general population as anything else than a means to an end.

I would agree with that, nearly absolutely.. for sure. (power corrupts, absolute power blah blah...)

There are exceptions to the rule of course. The heroes that stand out in history, maybe because they are the exceptions..?
(like the roman general who vanquished the enemies of Rome, then returned to his farm, for example... - name escapes me off hand)

.....the 'blindly' bit is the problem.
Or maybe, the sheeple/herd mentality is more the problem, actually!

Sort:  

I don't really mention exceptions in my statements because it wastes writing space and it's a truism that there are always exceptions to the rule :)

Thinking about Bush, I would also add the problem another fact: the rulers by career.
(fun fact: currently in my country there's a campaign using a hashtag that roughly translates to #NoCriminalsInPublicOffice ; I jokingly - though I'm actually serious - misuse it as #NoPoliticiansInPublicOffice)
People who make it their occupation to rule others will, obviously, have little remorse for any treacherous act. However, if you're open enough,there are alternatives, such as sortition.
(TED videos here:

)

The way I reason it is, if you - a random person - are dropped in a position to press the buttons, for a limited amount of time, and little chance to really gain something for yourself out of it, you might as well try to do something nice for the broader society.

.....I would also add the problem another fact: the rulers by career.

One of the biggest cancers, totally...Well said.

I'll watch the vid tomorrow - late here. Thanks.

The way I reason it is, if you - a random person - are dropped in a position to press the buttons, for a limited amount of time, and little chance to really gain something for yourself out of it, you might as well try to do something nice for the broader society.

A good idea, but meritocraticis in nature.. ( based on real life success, not politics!).
If we are gonna have to have someone in charge, a person with a positive successful background it a safer bet than purely random!

Thanks for the intelligent replies mate, I'll have a look tomorrow..

Diversity can trump ability?

...only if you have no sense of logic.

This appeared to be a quasi intellectualization of accepting the lowest common denominator to strive for tbh.

The way I see it, it proposes to take into consideration all the various demographic factors for the selected group to be statistically representative of society. Yes, I am aware this admittedly puts stupid people into the mix as well, but their mandate is limited and it would be interesting to see how things sort themselves out during that time.

It's not THE solution, it's just an exercise to see what could happen. And I'm definitely down for experimenting rather than keep the status quo ;)

Yes, I am aware this admittedly puts stupid people into the mix

..like now then! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46