Not a good news day....

in #blog6 years ago

vaccine.JPG

A few days ago I posted the happy families photo's of Sophie, Felix and their kittens cuddled up asleep on the back porch.
After that, in her wisdom, Sophie decided to move them.
(For what reason I cannot fathom, but I'm not cat, or a mother).

Yesterday evening, I noticed that Sophie had not been around for her food - as she always does - all bloody day...

I looked outside for her and there she was...(she was too pitiful for me to take photo).

She was wet through - her fur matted, and she was huddled on the ground, shaking terribly.
She was in a very bad way.
I know my animals, and I knew this was a serious state of affairs...
Her kittens were nowhere to be seen. ( I had a look around, and nothing). Judging by her condition, I would say they will be already dead.
Snake?
Maybe. I don't know, to be honest.
It is - quite literally- a jungle out there, where I live..

She was dozing and semi conscious, shivering , refusing food. I covered in a blanket and let her sleep.
This morning she was gone...I have no idea if she is alive or dead right now, poor thing.
Knowing animals, and seeing her like that, I think there is a very good possibility, she has gone somewhere to die...
She was a really sweet cat..

Felix is still here! And still comes around as per normal.... and his appetite hasn't been affected.
Little bastard....

Untitled.png

And then!!!

...last night, Lucy was very late coming home - only to give me the news my adopted granddaughter is in hospital with dengue fever!(a nasty illness, contracted from a mosquito bite)
Great, uh?
Because they caught the dengue early, (the same day the symptoms presented) they are not too worried about her.
She is strong and healthy, so everything should be ok on that front.

If she's anything like Lucy, her grandmom (and she is), the dengue virus will be looking for the nearest exit out of her.

She'll scare it out...
lol

Sort:  

I am very sorry to read what happened to your cat Sophie, I have also had cats and thank God they have always been affectionate and attached, maybe hurt trying to defend their babies, and cats when they feel sick seek to get into dark places like caves, even if they are small, I do not know why, it is very sad when a pet disappears, gets sick or worse, leaves us forever. I hope he's just waiting to get better and that he'll soon come home. I also hope that your adopted granddaughter will improve, I had classic dengue and it was not pleasant, I hope that I will never give again because the next one will be hemorrhagic, because it is the second time. Anyway, I hope you have better news soon, friend, blessings.

Thank you, matey.

Hello @lucylin,

I am sorry about what happened to Sophie :( (I am glad to hear Felix is around). As for the little one, I wish her a speedy recovery.

All the best to you all.

I've found sophie..she was still alive, just ..I'll go check in a few minutes

(I'll do a post in a short while, after I go see..).

The doctors nurses seem quite happy with Kranporm. (that's about the correct pronunciation..)

She is sweating and being fed saline.. She must feel rough though , she isn't annoying anyone! lol
The wards are full of people with dengue at the moment.

Lots of rain, lots of 'mozzies', and lots of dengue..

Thanks.

Sorry to hear your cat is doing poorly, I hope she returns when she's feeling better...

It's amazing how this little bundles of fur can sink their claws or paws so deep into their human friend's hearts...

I hope your granddaughter gets well soon...

Oy... so sorry to hear about your cat family going AWOL like that; cats are odd creatures, especially outside cats even if they seem quite "tame." They seemed so idyllic, just a few days ago.

Hope your granddaughter gets well soon!

=^..^=

Sophie is still a alive - I found her ..but incredibly listless.
It looks more and more like some snake bite, or poison off something, judging by here behavior...Too weak to walk.
And she has bites marks on her front and back legs..

She's in hospital, on a drip, and sweating profusely - but the doctors and nurses don't seem too stressed about her.

The wards are full of dengue patients atm
heavy rain, lot's of mozzies, and dengue...

I'll do a post in while, after I go check on her status (if she is still there!)

Sorry to hear the rough news. At least you have the ability to keep some humor during difficult times. I'm sure your granddaughter will pull through. Best wishes

Cheers mate,

I'll do post in while...

Congratulations @lucylin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Rough week my friend!
We are wity ya bud!

Hey I meant to ask. What do u mean by blocked ? In terms of your old account ?

Cheers matey..

Well, I found Sophie, she's still alive..mmm...kinda.
I'll stick a post up in a while (this my first coffee, my 'reply toovernight comments', hour lol)

I didn't need to find my granddaughter, -she's in a hospital bed. (which is unusual, normally you never know quite where she is).

Sweating, tired, and saline being dripped in. The nurses/doctors, don't seem too stressed.
The wards are full of kids with dengue this year - It's a bit of a mossie epidemic with all this rain, atm..

...My old account (it's still there @patriotwargamer)
I was only using my master password at the time ( I was knew, gimme a break).
One day I logged in and... 'incorrect password'
I had written it in two places on the comp - and hand written on paper - they all matched..
I contacted people (steemit chat at the time I think) on discord, and they couldn't help.
Eventually I just gave up.
Rather than spend hours trying to open it, just open another account, and crack on (copy and pasted my posts onto th@lucylin, and away we went..).

It still has 30 dollars or something in there, which is annoying! lol
I'm not sure if I even kept my keys for it..

...No point crying over spilt milk, kind of thing..

Same with me
I have $500 in my other account:( I just lost my info to get in so my fault but yea it sucks

Oh man, this has happened to some of our cats before, they perhaps perceive things that we cannot....who can know these things but God?

Glad everything was caught early! Glancing at some of your newer stuff, I think you can tell where this economy is headed, hope you guys are ready to buckle down and spend some time with the cats that are left!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82