My Son Daniel

in #blog6 years ago

After three girls, it's been interesting having a boy.

Not in the way many people expect. Personality-wise, Daniel is just Daniel. There's nothing that he does to make me say, "wow, he really acts like a boy!" Well, except for his size. He's a lot bigger than the girls, with broad stocky shoulders and far bigger hands and feet. He is not a delicate child...though he is a bit timid compared to Elaina.

It's more on us. Having a son means there are some slightly different plans for him than the girls. We feel more responsible for his future family than we do for the girls. If they leave us for a family of their own, their husbands are going to be responsible for providing. In Daniel's case, we need to guide him into being ready to provide.

To continue reading, please visit our website here.

Sort:  

Haha...what a smile!!

We had our boys first...and the girl last. It is fun to see how unique and individual they each are!!

Peace

Thank you! Oh yes, that's a generational smile he gets from his dad, granddad and great-granddad. I love it!

I bet she was just as much a surprise as the boy was for us. It's funny how you get used to having one kind if you have a few...

Look forward to hearing more about your thougths. They are of parituclar interest to my fmail and I as we anticipate the newest addition to our family.

Congratulations on the new addition!

This was a post I wrote for our website, so the rest of it is elsewhere online. I think my husband @ironshield put this up for me today - I was surprised to find I'd put up a new post -grin-.

The biggest thing I've been thinking over has really been considering the different "jobs" men and women have generally and considering what if anything needs to be done different in teaching Daniel than in the girls. There are a lot of cliches about the differences between men and women, but I find a lot of them are really shallow and don't really help a lot when it comes to helping the actual character of our children to grow. I'm really not finding there is a "boys will be boys" characteristic in Daniel just as I hadn't really noticed "girls will be girls" in my girls. I see character strengths and weaknesses in all of them that are unique to them, but the overall picture I've been pondering is the different underlying mission God gave to men and women. Its definitely different for each, but drilling down to the core of that difference seems like it might be especially important in this confused age.

Based on my conversations with @ironshield, it seems like our faiths stories are similar and they guide how we live life.

One thing I keep telling my girls is that they need to find a man who loves Jesus and is ready to lead a family. I will be telling Baby #6 (due in October) that he needs to be a man who loves Jesus and someday needs to be ready to lead a family of his own. And most importantly direct them to the author and perfector of our faith.

All of our kiddos are uniquely made - both strengths and weaknesses. It is a privilege to guide them and watch them live life as they learn.

Woohoo, a #6! You are a blessed man!

Is this the first boy?

I agree: it is a unique privilege to be given the task of helping the little people here become good men and women.

Yes, this will be our first boy.

WOW, that's going to be a big change!

Just an interesting tidbit ahead of time: changing diapers is really only tricky the first week. You will get wet on. After that, it's no longer a big deal - I don't know if he got used to being changed or what, but the horror stories of boys' diaper changes turn out to be overrated. -grin-

I agree. I feel a lot of pressure to train my boys to work hard, lead their families, follow YHWH with their whole heart. To be a strong man, but also love fiercely and also gentle and humble. Shew!!!

It's the leading families part that I tremble over. It's such a huge job and so often badly done; and when it's badly done it affects so many, many people...

First born son. What a blessing. We have big responsibilities with our precious boys. But such an honour to raise them in the way of the Most High. May they grow to bring glory to His set-apart Name and rejoice to walk according to His Torah. Lovely photo @lturner

Amen and amen. Thank you!

Such a cute boy. He's going to go up big and strong protecting his sisters....or could even be the other way round...lol

Thank you! Well, as my oldest says, "Right now I take care of Daniel but I bet some day he's going to be so big he'll be taking care of me too."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77