Log 171118

in #blog6 years ago

23632459_10159510999650697_2614600418200274287_o.jpg

Oh my, that week went fast!

As I walked along the river the other day, the golden leaves on these trees were coming down in showers. I was late for an appointment otherwise I'd have stopped more for some video. It was amazing to be in the midst of it. I expect by now, most of them will have come down. I love how at the moment every walk I take shows me the landscape a little bit altered as all the foliage falls and gets mulched down to feed next years leaves, flowers and fruit.

It's been a funny week on the work front. I started out with three pieces of work that I expected to deliver most of before Christmas. They're all now put back to January at the earliest. One of them is actually June, but that was my mistake. So while there's some prep and design work to do for the earlier ones, I won't do the events (or get paid the final bill...) for another ten weeks or so. Which gives me more time to hang around here :)

I've been trying to write something about forgiveness, excuses, truth, reconciliation and trust. It's as heavy as it sounds. It needs to be much lighter. The gist of it is, we're hearing a lot of truth being told and some are acknowledging how we've made excuses for bad behaviour, but how and when does this get to forgivness and reconciliation and increased trust. Can it ever? What's next? All that, anyway, it's a big messy draft at the moment, let's see what next week brings.

I'm also writing something about what we do here on Steemit. We're all creating, but is there a way of categorising the creations we're making and from there find ways of tagging better and finding like-minded steemians more easily? Yep, another messy draft.

Oh and I've been reading more. I discovered my son's hidden cache of interesting books on Monday and I've been delving in to that. It's good to get some balance and refill the well.

Need to get the uke out too.

OK, time for a stroll into town to buy some sausages.

Sort:  

how and when does this get to forgivness and reconciliation and increased trust.

I've been wondering that too. Looking forward to reading your thoughts on it. :-)

Me too ... and wondering about the balance between truth and reconciliation on the one hand, and invisibility and silence on the other.

I'm not sure how I feel about unisex (or perhaps omnisex is a better word) toilets. When I was a young woman, there was a joke about women all going to the toilet together. What happened (and still happens) in the toilet was that women spoke to each other. Sometimes that was the only space where they got to talk, and sometimes they talked about different things from the conversation that was going on outside the toilets. Confidences were shared, information was passed on. On one side of the argument, you could say why should women be confined to talking in the toilet, and, on the other side, even this tiny bit of space is being eroded and taken away.

I've just started working with organisations that tackle violence against women and girls and it is shocking to come up against the extent and nature and prevalence and sheer commonplace of violence against women and girls. It can only be that women are considered in some way as less as a universal belief. How then to change things, how to build and sustain healthy relationships between men and women where each is respected, honoured and nourished, while, at the same time, not becoming vulnerable to those people who will use changes in society, like shared toilets (mundane as it may seem), to continue to prey on others and to normalise ideas about how it is okay to behave towards women.

Hi Patron @lloyddavis
It's good to know about your real life activities.

I've been trying to write something about forgiveness, excuses, truth, reconciliation and trust.

I'll stay tuned on your blog for these interesting topics. I love learning from people life experience.

I am still trying to know why you always use that post title.

Greetings to your family.

It's your Blockchain Entertainer
@michaelcj

Beautiful color, good photo friend, I invite you to visit my blog, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84