Who wants to know where I come from?! - Discovering the Heritage DNA test !! (Fotos + Video)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

fullsizeoutput_402.jpeg

A few month ago I heard about that for the first time swiping around at my instagram page.

There they said in a video, that you can do DNA tests now, that shows, were your heritage comes from, tracking it back over hundreds of years back.

People started that initiative to prevent rasism and make people understand that we are all closer than we think. – Most of the people doing that test have no clue at all where they come from and it makes them want to travel to all that places !

This is something really fascinating for me since I love to travel all over the world and learn more about different mentalities and cultures!

Since I saw this video I got curious about my own heritage. I knew that my family is German and that two of my grandparents had to escape and leave everything behind in the second world war. They lived in a part of Germany that today is Poland and Chech Republic ; so the heritage test would probably show some regions over there. But apart from that information I had absolutely no clue.

I researched some more about that process but forgot a bit about because I kept on traveling until I went to Denmark on my birthday to visit my good friend Fie. There I saw the TV spot about MyHeritage again and we decided spontaneously to order the test and go through with it !

For her its especially interesting, because one of her grandmothers comes from Japan, and she doesn't know anything about her family or heritage over there. Another great tool of this program is, that once you get your results, your DNA also gets saved in a Databank, where family matches can be found. If other « family members » of you do the test, the system tells you about it. Like this you can have a lots of cousins, aunts etc. from all over the world that at some point had the same grand grand grand parent like you had ;) (again.. this goes back hundrets of years back).

So, being in Denmark I ordered the test and a few days after it arrived in our flat in Paris.

fullsizeoutput_407.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_408.jpeg

Once I opened it, I had to do an account at MyHeritage.com to get the exact instruction about how to proceed.

It said :

  1. Open the test kit and lay out the unoppened swabs and viais on a clean surface.

fullsizeoutput_405.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_404.jpeg

  1. Remove one cheek swab from its wrapper and use the swab head to scrape the inside of one of your cheeks, while rotating the swab for 30-60 seconds.

fullsizeoutput_40a.jpeg

  1. Open one vial and insert the swab inside, swab end down. Once the swab touches the bottom of the vial, break the swab against the inside edge of the vial at the marked black line, leaving the swab-end inside the liquid in the vial.

fullsizeoutput_400.jpeg

  1. Close the vial cap tightly.

fullsizeoutput_3fe.jpeg

Once I did this for both sides, I put the samples in the envelope and sent it back to the lab waiting 4 weeks for my results.

Yesterday I finally got them !!! – I was sooo excited.

This is my result of the DNA Heritage Test

So... First of all, I am 100% European! - Which may explains why I love the different cultures, languages etc.

But I am also:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-07-27 um 13.08.33.png

Bildschirmfoto 2018-07-27 um 13.18.01.png

That is so funny! - Because all of these countries (except England and Denmark) are the countries in Europe I didn't really travel to yet! I guess its another reason to travel to #Steemfest2018 this year in Poland, since some part of me is from there and I have never been before! ;)

I also already have 988 DNA Matches in the system living in over 40 different countries. - More reasons to travel then ;) - As If I would need more reasons to do that haha

Well anyways I think its a really cool initiative to prevent racism (especially in times like now, where we have immigrants and politics like in the US) and it is a super interesting way to get in touch with the world and the own history.

Sometimes it's also great to travel back in time and find out more about our roots in order to find out who we are and what we want in life :) - I think it's also important to know where we come from. - And often we would be surprised finding out -like I am now ;)

Maybe you had similar experiences in life and want to share them with me! I find this subject super interesting.

So, I wish everybody a great weekend! To everybody in Europe: Enjoy the summer ;)

Cheers,
Liz

Sort:  

This is awesome. I did my test with Family Tree DNA.... my paternal ancestors are from Southern Italy and my maternal are Native American... Ojibwe from Canada. My results came back 86 % European (Switzerland,Northern Italy,France, 10 % Middle Eastern, 2% Ashkenazi and 2% Native American. I have the same Y DNA Haplogroup as Albert Einstein. Http://www.e1b1b1-m35.blogspot.ca

34E4E578-5133-4F6E-8B37-9972595C9087.jpeg

Wooow That is sooo cool!!! You are a true world citizen, big interesting mix :) Did you expect that?? No wonder you are a time traveler ;) Where did you grow up?

From family stories I was expecting 50% Italy (Roman Nobility) 25% Native American 10% Ireland and 15% French..... I grew up on Lake Superior in Canada. The Middle East and Ashkenazi was a surprise so I did some digging and found some ancestors listed in the Semi-Gotha ... Aldobrandini and learned that I am a Rothschild who secretly runs the Whole World !!! Fascinating stuff indeed. I am Secret Illuminati.... so Secret I didn't even know it.

Woow thats awesome, and all of that just because of the test ;) - Now you dont have Ireland at all!!

You have indeed a great history then and a big future ;) - haha steem on time travelling! Are you gonna be at the Steemfest this year?

I won’t be able to make it to Steemfest. I’m Hoping it will come to Canada some time.

I was surprised by the no Irish in my DNA since we have all kinds of Irish names on my family tree.... obviously invented names... added a Mc in front of names like Farling and Falinger... the Hogan seemed pretty Irish but I guess there was a time when people just made up last names ???? Or the DNA test was wrong ?

Hallo...super Beitrag und du hast mich damit auch neugierig gemacht was meine Herkunft betrifft 😉
Es scheint ja ganz einfach zu sein diesen DNA Test zu machen-vielleicht kannst du mir noch sagen wie es bezüglich der Kosten aussieht 🙄
LG*schönen Sonntag

Hey, ich finde das echt super interessant und spannend. Konnte nicht wiederstehen es rauszufinden haha. Der Test an sich hat glaub ich um die 80EUR gekostet.. also schon ein bisschen happig. Hier ist die website: https://www.myheritage.de/

Wow Liz hahahaha this is huge first I never knew anything like a heritage test was possible but like you said, people these days needs to know how closer they are to each other, so you have over 48 heritage? That's amazing but not surprising I mean you're mainly German, that will basically show for the European heritage astound well, plus you love travellingva whole lot, I basically need to have this test too.

It's been a while Liz, hope you're okay? How's your journey coming through?

I would like to see where you are from!! yes it is impressive how many countries are involved in my history, eventhough its "just Europe". I am ok yes, sorry I havent been that active lately, I was at a Yogaseminar in Austria and we did sports 5 hrs a day. Internet was hard to get. Next week I will go through all my comments :) Hope you are ok too. I didnt have the time to check out your account more, but I hope the voter did work for you :)

yes the vote has been coming through and I'm very grateful about it really, yeah I was wondering as well, I take it you're still in Austria?
Yeah I'll be happy to have you back next week, I hope you're taking so many picture? 😁😁😁, cuz I'd like love to see the events you've been in so far, have fun

I am in Munich today to see some friends and tomorrow I go back to Paris until Saturday before I go explore the south of France for a bit ;) - Yes I try to show some pics, but also have to go on reporting about the Guatemala travels haha.

Wow you're going to France too? That's more than amazing wow so you're yet to cover the Guatamela travels? That place is cool, so how long do you intend to stay in France?

Will you be attending steemfest 3 in Poland Liz?

Yes, I am living in Paris since New Years. Still have to cover Guatemala, Belize, Bolivia travels haha ;) Yes, this year I will be there!! Will you come too? Last year I was in Argentina and had my own big reunion with friends from all over the world, so I couldnt be there.

It will be great to see you cover so many areas as well you know? Can't wait to see your pictures of Bolivia. Sadly I can't be there the air ticket costs a big fortune you know?

But it will be great to see you go, please take a picture with @ned hahaha

Haha not sure Im gonna see him and talk to him personally. But Im sure Ill meet my friends @anomadsoul and @luzcypher again and I maybe even travel there together with @manncpt and @mammasitta. Also I would love to finally get to know @everlove @roelandp @roxane @acidyo @tincho and many others in person. ;)

Wow.. That's all insanely interesting! But I am a little disappointed.. Not a drop of Italian blood! :D

I was disappointed too!!!! I love Italy!!! Ever since I am little I wanted to end up in Italy and the past weeks I was thinking of that a lot. Maybe soon :) Now I know which parts are missing in my DNA in order to change that for our next generations ;)

yes. Its incredible what is possible nowerdays

I like Japan. Very interesting family tree you have, Liz. My grandpa is from Amsterdam. Most of my ancestors are either from that area, England, Ireland, Scotland, or something like that. I may take a DNA test someday.

You should. Maybe in the end you are from somewhere completely different where you wouldnt have imagined ;)

Interesting post about the heritage DNA test, you made. Luckily I don't need to test mine, too. It should be the same... ;)

True :) - Maybe you find out that you are adopted hahaha :D

No this is sure. You are my true sister!

Beautiful photo thanks for sharing with us.

This is so very interesting !!! and YES it is an evidence that humans are a big mixed population with no boundaries or so whatever ! =)) if this sort of ideas can make things evolve... ! Oh yes!!

That's really really cool!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94