Does your cat love you only because you feed her?-- Psychology of pet-human relationships

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Of course she loves you because you feed her. But is that the only reason? Are our cats’ displays of affection akin to a peacock opening its feathers for a potential mate? Simply methods to achieve primal needs---feeding and reproducing?

I definitely believe it goes deeper than that. At least, in the long run, it does. I believe my cat has an affection for me that would be present even if I didn’t feed her, because we have bonded.

(Of course, it could be argued that, from the cat’s evolutionary perspective, when there is a long-term shortage of food, it makes more sense to be nice to the human who sometimes has food than give that human the cold shoulder. )

Virtually every behavior has some evolutionary purpose. Even we humans benefit from our relationships with our cat: Did you know petting your cat and hearing her purr can reduce blood pressure? Some may think that because these underlying end-goals drive a lot of behaviors, “love” may just be a means to an end.

I like to look at the relationship of love and evolutionary purpose as a double-sided arrow. Sure, cats subconsciously realize the benefit of being fed by their human, which leads to displays of affection. BUT! I also believe it is totally plausible that true and natural love can form and exist before an evolutionary purpose is realized. Then, the positive benefits that arise from loving and being loved are the cherry on top. (Gradually, natural selection would favor those creatures that “love more freely.”)

If love and affection are merely means-to-ends, and really boil down to simple scientific explanations, it doesn’t make them any less beautiful. Similar to a point Einstein made, that the more he understood the universe, the more beautiful it became.

Cold, hard facts can be seen as beautiful truths.

What do you think?

If you like cats and evolution, look out for a post that is currently brewing in my head regarding why its cute when cats do things like run to the window when they hear a loud noise outside!

Sort:  

In just 7 years, one un-spayed female cat and one un-neutered male cat and their offspring can result in 420,000 kittens.

Cats don’t have sweat glands over their bodies like humans do. Instead, they sweat only through their paws.

A commemorative tower was built in Scotland for a cat named Towser, who caught nearly 30,000 mice in her lifetime.

Thanks for the cat facts, catfacts!

When a cat chases its prey, it keeps its head level. Dogs and humans bob their heads up and down.

Catfacts is a bot. I once got into a back and forth cat-facts battle with it that resulted in 30+ comments. It eventually repeated itself so...I won lol

LOL! I didn't realize it was a bot at first, and I was chuckling at the thought of a random person leaving cat facts on random posts. XD

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lindabrooke to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Really great article. Do you have a psychology background? I see a psychology theme in a lot of your posts.
I think that cats form a bond and love their owners. They demonstrate bonding behaviors. When they rub their cheeks or butts(tail) against you or the furniture they are leaving their sent behind. However, when they head bump or touch their nose to you that is bonding behavior. I think that evolution is at play in every situation but I also think that there is a mutual companion aspect as well. Nice post!

Thank you, and yes, I have a Bachelor's degree in Psychology and am currently working on a Master's!

I think the last line in your comment is so true and kind of what I was getting at in my post. It's so cool that our evolution has recognized the benefits of bonding with kitty cats, because my cat brings me so much happiness, and I know she feels the same :-)

Do you have any cats or other pets?

I also have a BA in psychology though I am currently doing my Masters in social work.
I have a cat and a dog. You?

Awesome! Good luck with that. I just have one cat, she is my whole world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80