Turtles, Fish and Snorkeling in Hawaii

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Turtle.jpg

DTUBE VIDEO -

On the Big Island of Hawaii in December, I spent many days testing out the best beaches for snorkeling on the island. Many of the beaches are lined with lava rock rather than sand - this is very unique than most beaches most of us are used to.

Many of the safer snorkel spots are on the "Kona" side, also known as the sunnier side of the island. One of the best areas to snorkel for beginners is called Kahaluu Beach where the fish are abundant despite some of the damaged coral. There are many visitors who visit and stand on the coral. This unfortunately harms the coral over time.

The area is protected by a break water rock wall, making the water calm without many waves. Fish, eels and even turtles make Kahaluu their home. It is common to see turtles at Kahaluu. I am filled with excitement everytime I see a turtle swim by. Turtles are protected by laws in Hawaii and everyone must stay at least 3 ft from them, so no chasing turtles!
I have seen people try to chase the turtles, but in the end, the turtles gracefully outswims them.

I find it so silly how people swim with their gopros chasing after fish and turtles. A tip when snorkeling: stay as still and calm as possible and I promise, fish will be less frightened and even come closer to you. It is best to appear as less threatening as possible. It never fails that with this strategy, turtles find me... I don't have to find them! Then I stay and admire them as they swim by.

In this video, I show some of the fish that I saw while snorkeling, some turtles and a preview of the beach.
-->WATCH the video here or click on the picture above.

Do you like to snorkel? Where is your favorite place in the world to snorkel?

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing the info! I'd like to see more about this topic. Nice article! Best wishes!

So glad to share! Thanks for letting me know you like this topic... is it snorkeling or big island or both that you would like to see more of?... And best wishes to you!!! I appreciate the comment :)

My favorite place is Bonaire. Greetings from Holland.

Greetings!I have heard good things about snorkeling and scuba in Bonaire. It is definitely on a radar of places to visit. Have any insider tips on best places to snorkel in Bonaire? I always keep good tips in mind for future travels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61