A sketch in town

in #blog6 years ago

Yesterday, we went to the town to do something a little unusual.

How unusual, you may ask? Instead of going to some shops to have coffee or buy something, we went there to draw. No, it's not a drawing contest, and even if there's a drawing contest I won't join in either. In fact, some local community organized an event in hope that more people will shed attention to our local culture and the town, Bukit Mertajam's historical value. My uncle who is an art lover joined his friends to draw a few scenes of the town for the event, and I was just tagging along out of boredom. Plus it's just for fun, you don't need to be a professional to be there.

To be exact, the main reason I'm following is because I need to walk to hatch my Pokemon GO eggs, but maybe we can treat that as a side activity anyways.

We went to the town quite early in the morning and started to choose spots to draw. I hate choosing so I just followed along, and we ended up in front of an interesting house (according to my grandfather, that was a bicycle repairing shop) and they started to draw there. I wasn't that fond of that building, so I continued wandering around hoping to find something that catches my interest.

Food courts? No. Parking lots seem to be boring. The market seems to be a good choice but it is a little too challenging for me...

Then, a narrow lane caught my attention.


Quiet and silent, weeds and broken bricks showed how old that lane is. It hides behind a few old shops and gives an impression of a lonely forgotten memory lane. Well, maybe it is still used from time to time, but not for that day. At least during the few hours there I don't see people coming out nor entering it.

That was something that catches my attention, but for some reason I chose to draw one of the shops in front of the lane instead.


For some reason this view gives me some nostalgic feels. Not sure what I related it with, but it's probably the metal door, nylon sheet, hanging bottles, and the old walls. It's been quite some time since I last see people using plastic bottles as weights to prevent sheets from flying after filling them up with water. Anyways, I pulled out the drawing paper and started sketching.

It had been a super long time since I last drew something, and it had been years since I last sketched something (and I was never good at it anyways). Besides that, drawing while standing is quite challenging. Drawing without a table definitely makes it a ton of times harder to stroke correctly. In the end, I get something like this, which is...a little horrible I would say, but yeah I haven't drew anything for so many months, and I haven't sketched anything for years.


This thing was at the event venue for like 8 hours. I initially refused to let it stay there but my uncle said it's fine, so I placed it at one of the most unnoticed corners. It's okay, no one knows who I am anyways.

I have another half-completed thing in my bag too, maybe I should take that out and continue it with my own style. Sketching is just not really my cup of tea haha. If I ever remembered to pick that up again you might see it here within the next few months...otherwise let's forget it :3
That's all for now, see you next time.

--Lilacse

P/s: Here's a cute kitten as a reward for reading the post :) it really likes biting my bag.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress.

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59483.95
ETH 2714.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50