I'M HIRED!: AN OVERWHELMING REACTION FROM GENERATION X FACING COMPETITIVE INDUSTRY NOW A DAYS

in #blog7 years ago

Finally after three months battling the industry world are even more competitive than 2 years ago, finally I am hired!

Now a days finding the right job for the right person at the right time and at your chosen course is very difficult. I swear it is damn difficult. I am a living proof of a person where I experience rejections countlessly. I came to a point where I already questioning my capability to work, my knowledge, my strength, even my faith in him (God). Every night I need to dry up my pillows because I'm using it on wiping my tears. My husband does not know how to approach me, I am so sad and depressed to the point I'm not talking to him anymore. I just sat in the corner, laying on the bed with my favorite comforter even though the weather outside is 41 degrees. Sometimes, I find myself staring in the wind outside our rooftop at night. I drown myself in tears while smoking and wishing that the pain will gone. Trying to speak with him (God) and telling him all my rants, that he should at least give me sign if ever he has some plans for me. Every interview I attended my hopes are so high, I practiced everything so I can do well in the screening, still, everything wasn't enough.

They say things will fall into its places at the right time, according to God's plan. I kept thinking, does he have any plans for me? When we are at our weakest moment our faith are being tested. I admit, I almost lost it. I did stop praying for awhile specially those moments when I got continuous rejections. I feel hatred. I am annoyed. I see all things around me negatively. I easily get angry and my mood swings are at the highest peak. My husband was so affected, he does not know what to do. He keep comforting me but none of it affects me. All I know is that I am a worthless wife, a mother and a child. I can't even help my family and sustain my kid financial needs. I see all the debts coming and its getting worst. I pity myself so much, I'm desperate and I don't know what to do.

Each morning I wake up I feel so tired. There are times when I consider suicide as a solution but then my cats will just appear in front of me, lingering, staring at me as if she knows what I'm thinking. Most of the time I am left alone in the house with my four cats around so its easy for me to finish the problem, but I guess my cats won't allow me to do so and I am lucky for having them. During my depression days I used to talk to my cats instead of my husband. I feel more comfortable, maybe because they can't talk, or maybe because I'm so shy that my husband's seeing the worst in me. Though its not a problem for him seeing me like this but for me... well, yeah... its my pride. Being around with my cats somehow suites me.

Everyday gives me an opportunity to analyze things. What seems to be the problem? Why I can't get hired? So I did some checklist to identify my strength and weakness. I graduated in BS Psychology last 2012 in the Philippines and had HR Assistant position here in UAE while Admin Assistant in the Philippines. All in all I had 5 years working experiences, and so I pushed to continue my chosen career in Abu Dhabi. But being in HR industry isn't really easy, its takes a lot of trainings, learnings specifically earned certificates, which is I am lacking. Unfortunately, I had only 2 years HR experience in UAE and most job posting now a days requires at least 3 years up to 10 years experience. Then I don't earn yet any certificates specializing in HR and I am not so familiar in payroll system since my skills are more of documentation and admin support to the management, form which is another problem to me because mostly HR job description includes recruitment cycle and payroll system. Lastly, the salary offer really had an impact in terms of accepting job offers. Living here in UAE is quite expensive, the food and accommodation to be mentioned are a lot money to spend and of course we have to consider the amount of money we can save or send for our family. These reality are harsh and the major problem everyone is dealing with. I kept asking why its so unfair in terms of hiring people? Why still there's discrimination in terms of salary offer? Why Filipino's always get the lower rates but they had the most work load? Some stuff are not just equal. And we cannot deny the reality are getting even worst. We have been outnumbered by Indians and it is possible that soon they will dominate us, oh life is getting harder. I don't hate Indians but some people I knew (those people I worked before) they are so lazy, good at pointing-fingers and the annoying part is that they earn better than Filipinos. I am not saying all Indians are like that okay? As I said, I don't hate Indians.

Anyways to help myself improve more without paying or enrolling in institutes (because I can't afford yet) I searched and reviewed in different websites. Internet is really helpfull, all details can be found in just a snap of a fingers and it really help me well. So I started to check and read about UAE Laws, payroll system, compensation and benefits, some aptitude test as well and other topics related to HR industry. I did search also some certificate schools to enroll myself in the future because I really wanted to become managers someday. I joined a Filipino community here in Abu Dhabi where all the HR Professional and Associates are gathered to help one another in terms of career opportunities and level-up. Actually, because of them I am inspired to achieve more. I envy them but in a positive ways.

It helped me a lot in terms of job hunting, from time to time I get an update from which company are hiring. Several of these referrals I was interviewed but the luck is not really there yet. I've been entertaining Dubai job interview as well since I am so desperate. I don't even care whether I'll leave my husband here in Abu Dhabi, the more important thing to me is to find a job. I also tried to accept part-time jobs like nanny, sales-promoter, I even consider applying for cashier and sales-lady. Its so difficult, its like eating your pride out. I kept asking myself can I do this? Will I really grab these jobs which are far from my experience? Then I remember the old lines of OFWs, when you get abroad, even though in the Philippines you are a doctor, in other country you'll work as a nurse. Pride shouldn't be entertained. As long as you have a proper work, as long as you earn, whatever job you'll have that is the most important thing. Pride won't help you survive abroad--and that is true.

Luckily, God showed me he really have plans in me. Finally, after three months of desperation, after all the tears I cried out, after all the rants and doubt, he did not fail me. The right time came. Just yesterday I received an early call from a company that I was interviewed one week ago. I thought I wasn't able to get the position, but I finally did! They told me to come over to sign for the job offer letter and that they can start processing my permit. I immediately stumble in the bed and check the email they sent me and I was like........screaming! God, this is true? This is the work I prayed for-HR Assistant, well reputed company, with fair salary and two days off, haha! God is good!

Yes I am overwhelmed, it felt like I won a sweepstakes. Getting a job right now is really difficult, it took so long, maybe for others it took five or six months or more. The industry now a days are very competitive. There are so many graduates every year and you have to be ready and prepare yourself to sell and showcase your talents to them. You have to be unique, you have to be outstanding. Right now think about what you want to be in the future and attain all the requirements because I'll tell you, smart is the new sexy. Knowledge is really a POWER.

Wooohoooo! I am hired!

20989240_1265164990258723_5775636620277836180_o.jpg

Sort:  

Congrats may all your breaks continue to come true. Be blessed and blessing

thank you so much! Same to you =)

Congratulations on your new job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52