Dear 2018,

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Dear 2018,

2018.jpeg

First of all welcome to my life. As you might already know I was waiting for you to come for a long time now. Your big brother, 2017, was not so kind. In fact he was least to say challenging. He always pushed me around and didn’t quite care if I got hurt. He was stubborn and selfish and always had to have his way. And it wasn’t pleasant! Just between me and you, he seemed a little sad to me, maybe, thats why he was grumpy all those months..In his worst months he was acting like a tornado spinning everything around and destroying everything I have tried to build so far. Thank God those were only mood swings because some days I thought he went completely mad !! I was expecting him to leave with a bang, much like the way he came in, but it was quiet and subtle. In the end, maybe he realized that enough was enough and just went off quietly.
bye-bye-2017-welcome-2018-images-1024x576.jpg

That being said I apologize for talking bad about him. I know you guys are family and no matter how crazy family is you don’t really want to hear bad stuff about them. What I said was only so that you can understand my concern. You are brothers, but I want you to learn from his mistakes and maybe we can collaborate better together.
Lets make a deal.
I promise I won’t say anything bad about you to your little brother, next year, if you promise to be more kind and take into consideration my situation as well. I am sure that if we try to understand each other we can copilot this life for the next 12 months and achieve great things for you.. and me! Whether you like it or not we are in this together and if you listen to my pitch right now, you might not regret it. You can become the best year in my recent history. You have a lot of potential! Even your name is more special and better sounding then your predecessors..think about it TWO THOUSAND EIGHTEEN!! Sound grand right? Well why not live up to your name and.. BE grand!? My name is special too..it means loved by everybody, but some of your big brothers didn’t seem to agree with that, or maybe they just didn’t know what it meant. Nevertheless that’s why we need to communicate with each other. Set the record straight from the beginning if you know what I mean..
The Chinese call you The Dog..2018-happy-year-of-dog-vector-material-01.jpg
Well thats not so bad. I always loved dogs and like they say they are mans best friend. And I could always use a friend. They also say that you are very supportive of lifestyle changes and new business ventures. Sounds great since I have a couple of things in mind. I will tell you all about them in good time since now I know you are open to that kind of stuff(hehe..). However they also predict that you might bring some moments of melancholy..but hey who of us doesn’t feel melancholic from time to time? It means that deep down you might be introspective and have a kind heart. I am sure I can relate to that when the moment comes. Hmm also I am reading that you are very ambitious and believe in truth and social justice..we could all use some of that! Just make sure you keep it all well balanced and don’t start any wars or anything drastic like that..ok?
Now let’s cut to the chase and agree to always have each others back all these upcoming 12 months and who knows we might be friends for a long long time. Do we have a deal?

Keep in touch,
Yours truly @lidac

Sort:  

Very nice writing - very creative!

Thank you!:)

Well said @lidac - I like the depth and the energy of it!

We certainly have places to go this year!

You might have to wait for 12 months, to see if you have a deal or not... :))

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lidac to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44