Emerald Lake in Yoho National Park BC CanadasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

EMERALD LAKE

FB_IMG_1490133312109.jpg

It was July of 2013, when I first went to the Canadian Rockies. One of my favorite of all the lakes that we had visited is Emerald lake. With the crystal clear, emerald-coloured water and snow-capped mountains surrounded it, I felt like I was in heaven. The view was spectacular and magical.

received_10158701626720858.jpeg

The lake changes colour depending on the weather, lighting and time of day.

20160927_180201-1.jpg

20160929_183141.jpg

This was the view from our cabin

October, last year my husband and I went there for our honeymoon. We rented a cabin and stayed there for 3 nights. They were some of the most amazing nights of my life. The cabins are unique and cozy with rustic old-world charm that brings you back to the old times. Our room had a fireplace, nice bed and a back patio overlooking the lake. There are some trees in the way but still amazing. There’s no televisions or wifi available except in the main lodge and the area does not get cell phone reception. I like the idea of being disconnected from the world for a while and enjoying and appreciating nature.

More pictures of our cabin

FB_IMG_1498103211133.jpg

FB_IMG_1498103222115.jpg

20160929_173053-1.jpg

20160929_173107-1.jpg

FB_IMG_1498103227696.jpg

Canoeing

20160930_172656.jpg

I and my husband on the canoe

We rented a canoe for an hour and had enough time to paddle to the end of the lake and back.

20160930_172012.jpg

We stopped in the middle of the lake and just wowed with the beauty of it. The water was so calm, we were able to see the reflection of the mountains and white clouds across the perfectly jade like lake. The feeling was completely out of this world.

20160930_172425.jpg

Walking the loop trail

On our last day we walked the 5.6km trail around it. It took us an two hours to walk the trail. It was a very easy walk at first. We started at the left side of the lake. It starts pave and then goes into gravel. The other side of the lake was quite muddy as it rained that day and more like we were walking in a rainforest. There were lots of tree roots, so the going got tougher. And it didn't help that I was wearing boots as we didn't think that we would walk the whole trail. It was too late to turn around. So I will recommend to bring proper shoes if you are planning to walk the whole trail.

20161001_133518.jpg

20161001_140637.jpg

There are some really nice spots for viewing the lake at different angles. There are some benches and several convenient rocks by the water's edge for a rest or quiet moments appreciating the lake and the surrounding mountains.

20161001_134416.jpg

Me enjoying the spectacular beauty of the lake

20161001_132816.jpg

The view of the lodge across the lake

More pictures

20161001_141325.jpg

20161001_141136.jpg

20161001_134321.jpg

Our last night

When we came back from our walk, we rested and got ready for dinner. We ate at Mount Burgess Dining Room. This is one of the top ranked places to eat in Canada for good reason. The price you pay is well worth it. I had a steak with mashed potatoes and vegetables. But oh boy, it was the most amazing, delicious steak I ever had in my whole life.

We ended the night relaxing in the outdoor hot tub looking at the stars.

20160929_195823.jpg

Then went back to our room and relaxing by the fireplace. And as we were falling asleep together, it rained and that made it more perfect.

20161001_160504-1.jpg

This year Canada celebrates its 150 anniversary and all National Park pass is free. So to those who want to visit the Canadian Rockies, I would highly recommend to visit Emerald Lake!

Celebrate-Canadas-150th-Birthday-with-a-Parks-Canada-Discovery-Pass-Canada150.png
Image Source

I really love this place and will continue to come back over the future years.

This is a re-post so that more people could see it.



© Copyright, All Rights Reserved 2017, @lgfurmanczyk



Footer_image

Sort:  

Emerald Lake is so beautiful 😍

It is. My favourite lake in the rockies. I'm glad I gotta experience it with you :)

Those pictures remind me why I've always wanted to go to Canada. Great work my friend!

Thank you :) You would love it here!

Wow really nice photos! And hello from a fellow canadian

Hi there:) Have you been to Emerald lake? Thanks for looking!

No I havent yet. But hopefully soon!

Amazing photographs - this looks like something from a scene of a movie it is so beautiful! I made a note of this place, if ever hit the jackpot or something I will definitely would travel there.

Thank you! You won't regret going there, it's not super cheap but it's worth every penny.

Congratulations on your recent marriage!

I just wanted to note that the photos you posted of Emerald Lake were stunning. I particularly like the depth of the photos, keeping a large depth of focus to take in all the beauty of the area. Keep sharing!

Beautiful place! I am going to Canada within a month, Hope to be there someday!

Yes! You should definitely visit the rockies. You won't regret it.

That lake is so beautiful it almost looks fake! Such great scenery with amazing color. Your lodging was also very nice. I'm glad you had a great time :)

We were joking about that too. That everything in the rockies looks fake.haha. Everything was made for perfect pictures! And yes I love the cabin. It brings me back to old times. Thanks for viewing:)

good stuff! would love to make it up to canada to take pictures

great idea. Canada has so many great shots for photograph.

Great Honeymoon! Very beautiful places and the ring in the finger :)

Yes it was amazing. I feel so thankful to have been able to go.

Nice place for one to go on vacations, you really enjoy your trip. The pictures are very nice also the way you explain each of your stop over, makes one to know that your good writer. I enjoyed every bit of it. Ride on.

Aww thank you! Honestly, I feel like I can't write very well, so this really encourages me. I'm glad you enjoyed the post, thanks so much for your kind comment.

Your most welcome. Just keep doing what you know how to do. I will be there for you. I mean it your a good writer.keep it up.

Wow, fantastic post. I love Emerald Lake!

Thanks! It sounds like you've been there. When did you visit?

Probably been there 7 or 8 times, I used to live in Banff!

Oh wow. I'm SO jealous. I would like to live in Banff. What was it like to live there? Do you miss it?

Yes. I miss it. Never should have left, going back this summer, maybe even back to Emerald Lake too!

Why did you leave then? Awesome! It'll be great to visit I'm sure. I miss being there. I want to go back again soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45