How to learn ENGLISH quickly and efficiently

in #blog7 years ago

Hi there,

Today I want to talk about a very important topic: the learning of foreign languages, more precisely, English. It is the most spread language around the world and the one that serves as a vehicle between different languages.

Just to introduce myself and tell you a little more about me, two years ago I didn't know anything about English. I could just barely say hello and "what time is it?" to some foreign people. Recently, for career purposes, it was necessary for me to know fluent English, therefore I was forced to put myself in a more proactive learning situation...... The results were:

One year following I was able to:

  • Read books in English;
  • Have a normal conversation with foreign people;
  • Research in English (which I found out is very useful);
  • Write cohesive and coherent English

There is the full article in my blog below but as it is in Portuguese I will sum up the main points

https://eclosao.wordpress.com/2017/01/27/como-aprender-ingles-a-serio-de-forma-simples-e-eficaz-1a-parte/

The main points:

1º- Playing Duolingo every day

We can be grateful to live in an age where the advent of technology that can give us good apps for practical application like duolingo.
This simple app teaches you more vocabulary than several years in school. Moreover it is extremely easy and intuitive to use.
Also, it gives you intuition about grammatical structure. Duolingo is like the pillar for anyone who doesn't know anything and it is a good place to start.

2º- Watch Movies, Tv shows, or any kind of video in English subtitled in English

This is basically the success key of this method and what drives people to the next level. Here you are not only listening to English but also reading at the same time. In this way it is possible to associate the word with its pronunciation. We are killing two birds with one stone

This is certainly the fastest and most effective way I know to progress in the language. Plus you are doing it in a fun way especially if you are a movie or tv show lover! [p.s - watch game of thrones :)]

()

Hope I could help, if you have any questions just let me know in the comments below ;)

-Leynad

Sort:  

Hello and thank you, coming from a non english speaking country, i also want to get some way to help my son to improve his english and thank you for introducing the apps. I also agree of watching movies or TV series would really help one in conversation, actually that how exactly i learn my english from :).

It is a pleasure :D

There´s a website called lang-8, where native speaking people from all over the world are practising together. For example I am helping someone who wants to speak german and this person is speaking english and helps me to improve my english skills.

I tried severel apps to improve my english, but I never came across duolingo. I will try it. From a first look the app seems to be great.

I am watshing severel Tv shows and movies, english youtubers ect., but it don`t feel like I had improven my english. Only a few new words.
Maybe I have to read more .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50