Blog #4: We eat what we grew! Healthy Living

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

As you can see,If you go to market in Vietnam nowadays, it's really hard to differentiate Vietnamese goods with Chinese goods. There are lots of foods containing toxic factor that people can't know exactly. Because food are immersed into the high toxic factors which are used to keep food fresh longer. This can cause some kinds of disease if people use them regularly and with large amount. The numbers of patients who caught the dangerous disease are growing day by day.

To protect myself and my family from the toxic factors above as much as I can, I myself have grown some plants for our daily use.

It's the Winter in Vietnam. The most popular vegetables in this season is some fresh vegetables, such as broccoli, cabbage, and spinach, contain calcium.

Thus, I divided my garden into some small parts, each part I planted one kind of vegetables with enough amount for using in one week. After that, I would plant another kind of vegetables.

Chinese Cabbage

This part I used to grow the Pekinensis Group (Chinese Cabbage). They can be grown fairly easily. Look at this! So fresh, so delicious. Especially, totally safe to my family.

26552757_173859256697428_1852332890_n.jpg

26637966_173859276697426_1222861120_n.jpg

Usage:

  1. While these cool-weather vegetables may not be quite as addictive as fried egg rolls. Even, you can use to roll with steak inside accompanied with mustard. How do you feel?
  2. I often stir them fry with lots of garlic.
  3. We can use them to make soup with meat (fork meat, chicken meat) or shrim
  4. Some time we just boil them in hot water and use with sauce. Very nice taste and easily used.
  5. Use them with noodle as well.
  6. Use directly in Salad methods.
  7. Use them when we have a hot pot in winter. Gathering with your family in a very cold weather, preparing a hot pot with sea foods, with meat and Just some Chinese Cabbage in hot water and then use with chili sauce. Really awesome,huh?

Glebionis Coronaria

This section I used to plant Glebionis coronaria.

According to wiki media, this is a species of flowering plant in the daisy family. It is native to the Mediterranean region. It is also cultivated and naturalized in East Asia and in scattered locations in North America. Source
26235302_173859223364098_569099741_n.jpg

Usage:
Our daily use: The plant's greens are used in many Asian cuisines, including Vietnamese cuisines. We use them in stews, casseroles, and hotpots.
Like chinese cabbage above, we use Glebionis coronaria in the same way. There are some different usages in other country.

For example: The leaves are also an important ingredient in Taiwanese oyster omelettes and, when young, are used along with stems to flavor soup and stir-fry. In Japan, it is used in nabemono. Korean cookery uses the greens in soups, stews, and alone as a side dish. In a hotpot, it is added at the last moment to the pot to avoid overcooking. Source

These cabbage and glebionis coronaria I grew directly from Seeds.

Endive and Curly Endive

The 3rd part I used to plant endive and curly endive. This kind of plants I grew from the seedling. I bought the small trees from tree market. After making soil being more rich and soft, I put the trees into each hole I have dig before. Covering the root parts by soil and watering. Sometime I have to clear the grass around them to help them develop well.
20180121_111102.jpg

Usage:
I think This kind of plant is very popular to all of you. We usually use them for salad. This is always the best choice for me when I need something to eat freshly and instantly.

20180121_111113.jpg

OTHER

The next part in my garden is used for Dill, Lemon grass, Onion and Tomato. They are growing up together. Look at the green they bring to my life. So beautiful to enjoy my gardening time.

26197672_173859236697430_9013257_n.jpg

20180121_111109.jpg

Someone would think how careful I am, but thinking of safe meals for my beloved ones, I think my time is really deserved. Each day I spent time on my garden, I felt absolutely happy and enjoyable. I can imagine my baby's eyes when she takes the delicious food I have prepared with all of my heart. You can go to market to buy vegetables easily but to buy your beloved ones' safety and happiness is another way of doing. Its up on the way you do it.

Just do what you need and what you want, what make you happy and satisfied. Just do it!

Bonus here is a picture of my flower. This is a decoration of my life, a way of my relaxing time.
27045250_182964119120275_1201553171_n.jpg

Sort:  

This post deserves more views. I really like it. I looked for Glebionis Coronaria to see what's it in Turkish, because you know Turkey is in Mediterranean region. But I noticed I heard its Turkish name first time. I think it's more famous in other Mediterranean countries.
By the way I was watching Shark Tank Vietnam show last week. And a biochemist woman came and said she has a test which can understand dirty food. I was thinking like "is it really necessary," but now I understood it is.
But it's good to have a garden to grow your own food, because you're seeing how they grow and how they're natural and your baby will be healthier :)

Thank you @hungrybanana. I still dont know how to draw more views.
Sometime I think maybe the reason is that my post isnt quality enough for those to see and vote. I must improve myself much. But quite disappointed when those keeps small views ^^

P/s: I like Shark Tank too, Thai Van Linh is my fav Shark. I admire her much ^^

Please don't think like your posts are not good quality. This post is really great with enough information and lots of photos. You can use resteem services to gain more views. If you don't care about money that you will spend, you can send 1 SBD or 1 Steem to @ebargains and he upvotes your post (with less amount you send) but he also resteems your post. And you can get few follower and upvotes from there too.
And if you want to get views for free, I definitely suggest you to comment on other posts. Even you don't upvote a post, you can simply comment to authors who write same topics as you. And you will get attention of them and they will follow you. But don't forget to comment long enough.
And my 3rd suggestion. You're in Vietnamese community, you should keep contact with them. They're really friendly and helpful in this platform.
Hope it helps.
And about Shark Tank, it's fun to watch it, but it's difficult to find English subtitles for it. Good that I found a YouTube channel that I can watch. I used to watch Dragon's Den (which is original version of USA), and after then Turkey made a version for it too. And now I saw Vietnamese version, and it was really good. Lots of sharks in there and lots of whales in here hahah.

Thank you @hungrybanana for your detailed guide. I have done something as you said. I am developing myself in this site. Yes, I also spend my time reading other posts to get my knowledge as well as to share the ideas. And keep in touch with Vietnamese accounts, too.
haha. I care about the money as well. But mainly I would like to share the ideas and improve my writing. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43