How I Started Traveling and Where It Took Me To!!! :) (Happy Life)

in #blog7 years ago

After school I had no idea what direction I wanted my life to go so I though, "i love nature" why not to study Environmental Sciences?

IMG_0184.JPG

So, I did that for almost 3 years and then... Well, in my mind i thought I knew in Argentina there's no environmental consciousness, or at least not enough to create a good job offer, and the university im going to feels too easy, not a good level of knowledge getting to me... So I quit...
What can I do now?
I like video games, technology and science so... Let's go for Computer engineering...
So... I studied that for another maybe 2 years and again... "Im going crazy"

76609_1606480355606_4632771_n.jpg

All this numbers, formulas, logic, programing, etc... Also I don't see me all dressed and going to an office from monday to friday for the rest of my life... I quit!!!

yep, you can say i'm a quitter, but no... i'm not... i was just searching the world and more importante searching for myself...
Third career... yes, that's the true... I started another one... Multimedia design...
At least in this one I was faster... after less than a year I was working with After effects, and editing video for tv advertisements...
Well, thats my university experience... almost 6 years and 0 diplomas...
During this period I was also working on stressful jobs that I didnt enjoyed at all... (being a slave)
To make it short here is a list:
I did, telemarketing, customer service, surveys, network support for companies, manager on a post production studio, video editing and VFX, and thats it... After 10 years of jobs that i didnt enjoy i finally finish paying for my house (with my mothers help of course) houses are to expensive to save money so fast for them in Buenos Aires...

So, here I am... 29 years old, no career, no direction, but I have my house, no debts, a little saving, no more girlfriend and even more, 2 extra rooms to rent... FREEEEEDOOOOOOM!!!! :) what now?

75134_1606478675564_5687753_n.jpg

Here is when my life started taking the direction that made me a happy man...
I stoped stressing about money, I can live with just enough for food and bills so i started doing freelance jobs... any kind of jobs...

On the summer of 2010 I went on a trip with a friend for a month to north Argentina and after that with another friend to Uruguay!!!!

171190_1676485225684_6868461_o.jpg

That was the most important discovery or one of them... For the first time in my life i stayed in a hostel... WHAT???????????? all this people from around the world, so much fun, so much to learn and discover...

856395_10200107255897859_1393668117_o.jpg

They travel for a year or even more!!! how? I want that!!!
Well, it's easy dud... just save a little and start moving, then stay in a place you like for a while, rent a room or house, and work, it's pretty easy to get jobs anywhere, specially if you speak english and spanish... and even easier if you are willing to work hard and get dirty...

IMG_0781.JPG

So, for the next 3 summers i wasn't able to save money and too scared to start moving with almost no savings... i kept going to this hostel at the beach in Uruguay and working there for 3 months every year... finally I got it... 4000 U4 in my pocket... ready step, go!!!

I never got to far away from Argentina before so, my choice was easy... i go by bus as far as i can...
In the first 3 months I did: north argentina, chile, bolivia, perú, ecuador, venezuela and got to the north of colombia... there i did my first real stop... I spend 8 months in Taganga, caribbean on the north...
After a while i was able to tell my mother "Mom, your son finally finished something!!! Im a divemaster!!! ) :)

12377976_10206716172636647_5207537457893752878_o.jpg

So, I just kept going... Panamá, costa rica, nicaragua, honduras, guatemala, mexico and the US...
all of this took me almost 4 years already... If i want to tell you everything this post would be more than 300 pages long...
On the way I mostly worked in hostels. Also every year i went back home to work for 2 months getting good money...

I just wanna tell you something... after all this time and places, the one i keep coming back and the one i'm right now at, is San Marcos la Laguna, on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala!!! i'm gonna make a special post for this place!!! :)

20170205_110408.jpg

I hope this was interesting enough for people to read it all!
Also, after 8 years single, I finally found my life partner here, and she's a traveler too... it could not be any other way, i'm gonna keep moving but now, not alone anymore....

IMG_1790.JPG

the end...

*****All text and photos are originals*****

Sort:  

treehugger!!! jajajaja check my steemit @romanaround i followed and upvoted

Following you too! Looks like you do you’re share of traveling too... :)

You are really a traveller bro...lol....
You have gone to so many places, its a very good thing to be free and am really so happy for you

Awesome entry Lucian. I like how you showed that traveling is easy.... "save up a little money and start moving". ....

Perfect. Lake Atitlan is definitely one of my favorite places in the world.

Where are you now? I’m gonna be here until midd may! Hope to see you back

Glad you liked my post!
Something you should know... if a post is more than 7 days old don’t upvote! That doesn’t give any reward... it just works for one week 😉

Thank you for the piece of information friend.

Glad you liked my post!
Something you should know... if a post is more than 7 days old don’t upvote! That doesn’t give any reward... it just works for one week 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42