You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: F

in #blog6 years ago

Stray dog here on my second day on Steemit and I’m conflicted by what I’ve been seeing. My first reaction was similar to yours where everything on here seems fake and comments only consist of “hey! Great post I really connect with you! Vote my comment”. It made me want to throw up after a life of reading arguments on Facebook and took me back to my uncomfortable session watching the Black Mirror Social Credits episode. But now on the other hand I am starting to think is the alternative better? Like I know conflict can be good and stimulating when it is constructive but on the other side of the internet I feel like we have gone too far and people create conflict for the sake of it. I like the ideas behind a decentralised knowledge sharing social media site but from what I’ve seen so far it seems like everyone is too scared to challenge any ideas at the risk of losing their precious steem points or whatever??

Sort:  

IMO this place is good for getting an engaged readership that you can leverage as social proof to build your business, get clients, or support others social media platforms. Also there are networking benefits to being visible on here, which is my new main motivation for posting.

Regarding being too scared to post controversial opinions, that’s why I coined the term circle jerk in regards to steemit. But all that aside, once you realize that the benefit to posting here isn’t money or quality discussions, but the exposure for your writing and connecting with potential diamonds in the rough, then it makes the place more palatable. Read some of the posts in my sig for a better explanation.

Mm I guess I will see if I can endure and see how I go then, I think I may have been hoping for a bit too much when I heard what it was all meant to be about particularly if some form of compensation is involved. The way I understood it was that it was a social network that takes away the big business element and allows people to actually connect without some sort of alterior motive (allowing actual quality discussions) but now it just sounds like that has been lost to just another opportunity for people to sell.

It does take away the big business element, but that's not necessarily a good thing. Big businesses are big businesses because they know how to add value to the human race, something that most of the people who use this site have no idea how to do.

Instead, we have a free for all where people beg for upvotes and post shit content. With no guidelines for content that can be advertised on (because there is no advertising), the content on here has no reason to be good. Some people who have been here long enough still get upvotes from their friends who have lots of SP, but that's just a popularity contest. If you want to play that game then you're welcome to, it's just not for me.

If there wasn't the option to boost posts on here, I wouldn't be here.

Yeah fair call. I think all the recent media coverage about that sort of thing has started to bring out the tin foil hat man in me...

I guess at the end of the day everyone is going to have an agenda so it’s going to be near impossible to develop a pure “social network” that isn’t driven by someone’s self interest

Steemit is all about money. It is a bunch of VDS (virtual dick sucking) . You will get use to the slurping/ gagging noises around here.

Shit ey, is it good for anything else? Other than stroking an ego?

I guess I am a stray dog as well and stumbled on your reply to the F blog post. I’ve retired from Dick sucking ( virtual or otherwise) so maybe this isn’t the place for me...

Yeah it's been a pretty rough start from what I thought I was joining haha...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30