20 years in the failing...

in #blog5 years ago

Holding myself up to societal standards is an antiquated idea, and a mistake. A mistake I've been living for quite a few years now. Mostly due to the fact that we live in a one size fits all standard that was established a century ago. Manufacturing plants that utilized the Ford assembly line process bleeding the training into the education system. Both World Wars that brought about standard dietary plans, exercise habits and clothing measurements to the American way of life. The quantity over quality era has made us all believe that no one needs to be tolerated if they don't fit the standard molding shape of what is basically the most bland version of any kind of human being.

Regardless of the cookie cutter parameters that mold people to be simple humans functioning as working cogs within a massive gear, I somehow still came out abnormal. Trauma induced mental illnesses called Depression, Anxiety and possibly PtSD from bullying molded a stressed, overweight, timid, people pleaser that seems to be going no where in life.

When I got my first serious boyfriend/fiance' out of highschool I wanted to be a career woman. My first and foremost goal was to go to college, get a career and work at it for a few years before beginning the family life. My fiance had other plans so I ended the relationship; but not before he ended my finances and my school life with it.

I'm not interested in dumping my entire history to this point in one post but I wanted to establish a point of reference.

A backstory if you will.

All good protagonists have good backstories. Actually any character from any anthology is worth it's weight in ink so long as it has a good backstory. Lately the rise in popular characters has come from traumatic backgrounds but it used to be just people who were curious. Disney has the market on curious characters from Wendy,Michael & John in Peter Pan to Rapunzel in Tangled (both suffering from overprotective parenting ). I don't believe the lesson was that curiosity got you hurt, tho there were considerably dangerous circumstances. I just think the adults at the time were of a more simpler mindset, not thinking that children were undergoing actual mentally debilitating scenarios.

It seems that on any social platform, honesty has a tendency to find it's way out into the open. And yes, honesty comes in many flavors from beautifully inspiring to the horrid and ugly.

My honesty will be no different.

I am my content, on any platform, but here I'll be keeping it mostly centralized on: Story development, development as a Filmmaker, and personal growth.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kuncklehead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @kuncklehead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60